Ex Libris
Comments 3

2016 Books, #5

2016 Books, #5

I got The Sellout for USD 13.12 and The White Castle for free. The former arrived from TBD last April 18 and the latter yesterday. By the way, Orhan Pamuk has this copy signed. Yes, I have the signature of a Nobel laureate on the inaugural winner of the Independent Foreign Fiction Prize (now reconfigured and merged as the Man Booker International Prize). Thanks to my friend Benny for this priceless gift.

I’m thinking of reading The Sellout right after I finish my current read, which should signify a successful effort at getting out from my general life rut. This should be good since it recently won the NBCC award for fiction and grabbed the rooster at the Tournament of Books. Has anyone read this? What do you think?

3 Comments

  1. I don’t know either of these but what a delight to have that signature. I’ve seen mentions of the Tournament of Books but I can’t quite fathom out how it works.

    Like

Thoughts? Feelings?

