Book Reports
Comments 12

Book Report: February 2016

Book Report: February 2016

Two months, two books, two reviews. I don’t think it’s bad. On the contrary, it feels good because I no longer stress about how many books I should have read by now and I’m able to dish out some of my thoughts and feelings about the books that I finished. They are by no means anything like the reviews of James Wood or Tim Parks but they still serve something: a record of my reading experience.

Books Finished:

  • Preparation for the Next Life by Atticus Lish – 5 out 5 stars. Review here.
  • The Narrow Road to the Deep North by Richard Flanagan – 3 out of 5 stars. Our book club’s February read. Review here.

Currently Reading:

  • A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara – On page 259 of 720. I see why people love this. The narrative is straightforward and the characters are so fleshed out that you can imagine yourself being in their company. I still have a long way to go though but I’m always looking forward to reading it every night, that is when I’m not dead tired after work.

TFG Book Bingo Progress:

TFG Book Bingo Progress, #1

TFG Book Bingo Progress, #1

I am aiming for a blackout. And as you can see, I have very little progress. If you’re wondering why the Flanagan book is not included, we don’t consider our book club selections counted for this challenge. Anyway, I need suggestions for the following boxes: Set during a holiday, Speculative fiction, and About music. Hopefully the titles that you recommend, if any, are already in my TBR pile so that I won’t have to buy anything. But of course, I will make an exception if you have very strong feelings for your recommendation and if you think I will love it.

Lastly, would you consider A Little Life as something written by an Australian/Oceanian? The author is from Hawaii, which is part of the U.S., but the place itself is located within the boundaries of Oceania. What do you think?

12 Comments

  1. Louize says

    You’ve already marked one on your Bingo Card, that’s progress!
    Ako wala pa! :)

    Like

  2. I like that you put the photos on the BINGO card! Also for your speculative fiction ANYTHING (pretty much anything) by Margaret Atwood would qualify.

    Like

  3. For the ‘holiday’ box I could suggest two Booker prize winners. Holiday by Stanley Middleton which is a quiet novel about a middle aged guy on the point of a marriage breakdown who returns to the place where he always had holidays as a child. The Sea by John Banville takes a man back to his childhood holiday resort where an event happened that changed his life.

    Like

  4. Monique says

    Sooo. The appeal to put A Little Life in the bingo box continues here! Hahaha. My answer is still no. Harharhar.

    For spec fic: The Handmaid’s Tale na lang. :)

    Like

Thoughts? Feelings?

