Book Reports
Comments 17

Book Report: August 2015

Book Report: August 2015

Whenever I’m the assigned discussion leader of our book club, I don’t get to read a lot. It’s not supposed to be that way but still, I could only focus my energies on one book. The Ubik book discussion took place more than a week ago. It was a fun book to talk about because you get to throw around all these theories on what really happened without fearing that you’ll be incomprehensible. And that’s because all theories are acceptable; the book doesn’t offer one single conclusion.

So now that my moderating duties are done, I should be catching up on my reading back log, yes? Unfortunately, I’m not. It’s not that I can’t read or don’t want to read. It’s just that I’m distracted with games. Gosh. Let me go off the bookish track here. Ever since I learned that there’s going to be a remake of Final Fantasy VII, one of my favorite Playstation games, I just couldn’t stop thinking of those early teenage years when I studied strategy guides instead of my lessons and I hung out with the guys to talk about the progress of the games that we were playing. This Playstation nostalgia made me want to play games again. To soothe this longing, I downloaded this free to play game called Final Fantasy Record Keeper, and now all I want to do is to make my characters stronger. It keeps me up until 4:30 AM. Please tell me that I’m not the only one playing this?

And before that, I was also distracted with another meme/game going on at our book club. It’s a game where everyone races to post two book titles relevant to the keyword provided by the previous player. You’ll have to provide a new keyword along with the book titles to keep the game going on. Good thing that there isn’t a big project at our office or my productivity would have suffered big time.

So yes, games. I love games. I guess I’ve never really outgrown them. As expected, my reading life suffered a bit.

Books Finished:

  • The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell – So yes, I achieved the 300th book milestone with this. 5 out of 5 stars.
  • To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee – Revisiting this book 17 years later is really something. I no longer read it as a kid who really believed that Boo Radley is a scary monster. I now read it from the perspective of an adult. Obviously, I have matured, or at the least changed, as a reader. 5 out of 5 stars.
  • Ubik by Philip K. Dick – Yes, I’ve read this three times. This last time though, I binge listened to the audiobook version the day before our book club discussion. I weaved in and out of sleep. It’s like the half-life experience speculated in the novel. Well, this kind of reading doesn’t really count but I just like to share this experience. 5 out of 5 stars.

Currently Reading:

  • Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee – On page 165 of 278. Our book of the month. I was quite uneasy reading this but I’m happy to say that it has not destroyed my Mockingbird experience. Yet.
  • Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J. K. Rowling – On page 79 of 870. Untouched.
  • The Man in the High Castle by Philip K. Dick – On page 137 of 274. I wanted to read another Dick novel for our book discussion but alas, I didn’t finish it on time. (Php 656.10, National Book Store – Shangri-La Plaza, August 3)

Maybe:

  • Being Dead by Jim Crace
  • The Buried Giant by Kazuo Ishiguro
  • Family Life by Akhil Sharma
  • Rabbit Redux by John Updike
  • Song of Solomon by Toni Morrison

New Books:

  • The Book of Strange New Things by Michel Faber – I’ve been long lusting for the gilt-edged hardcover edition. I’ve delayed buying it for so long. In fact, there are trade paperbacks already available. Now, I found a reason to buy this. I might campaign for this book for my next moderating duty in 2016. Wait, I just finished my book discussion, right? (Php 1,058.40, Fully Booked – SM Megamall, August 20)
  • Orlando by Virginia Woolf – Something to add to my Vintage Woolf collection. This is the fourth. (USD 11.24, The Book Depository, August 24)
  • A Room of One’s Own/Three Guineas by Virginia Woolf – And this is the fifth. Yes, slowly but surely. (USD 10.38, The Book Depository August 24)
17 Comments

  1. I’m with you on the games. Every so often I’ll fall back into Minecraft and lose so much reading time. I don’t know what I’ll do when Bethesda releases another Elder Scrolls console game. If they do my blog will go dark for a good while I’m sure.

    Like

    • Yay! I’m not alone. I actually just paused for a bit because I’m regaining my characters’ stamina. For what it’s worth, I like Squaresoft Enix and Tri-Ace games.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Did you ever see the Final Fantasy VII: Advent Children anime movie? The graphics of that movie is amazing! (sorry, for lack of a better word :P).

    I have a paperback copy of Michael Faber’s Strange New Things….I know nothing about it, but for some reason, I felt compelled to buy it. I have yet to read it.

    Like

  3. I’ve never got into games beyond a fling with candy crush but I can see how easy it would be to get so wrapped up that you lose sense of time. Your club meme sounds fun. I read Fabers Crimson Petal and hated it so much I didn’t feel I wanted to read anything else by him

    Like

  4. I’m more of a Final Fantasy IX guy myself but I also loved playing Final Fantasy VII during my childhood. I’m kinda excited for the remake.

    I’m very curious with The Man in the High Castle. The premise seems so intriguing.

    Like

    • Maybe you were like 6 or 7 when FF7 came out and I was twice your age then, hahaha! By the time FF8 came, I was already focused on other things (like dealing with my sexual identity crisis!) and so I didn’t get a chance to explore anything further than that. Most lists say that either FF6 or FF9 is the best. I’m looking forward to playing them.

      The Man in the High Castle has a very different tone and mood from Ubik. I’m more than halfway through and as it is the case with Dick, there’s no telling what can happen.

      Like

  5. Louize says

    I had an impulse to read Family Life last Friday. The beginning was a bit slow, but I got the hang of it. Almost 80% through, and enjoying it.

    A message of encouragement, if ever you’ll take up your Maybes. :)

    Like

    • It has been a Maybe since I got my copy from the mail. As a gesture of trust, I’ll pick it up right after I finish a couple of my current reads. :)

      Like

Thoughts? Feelings?

