Book Reports
Comments 17

Book Report: July 2015

Book Report: July 2015

This is a ho-hum month. I did finish a couple of books but that feels like months ago. I guess that’s because of my fourth moderating stint at our book club. The online discussion is on full steam so I’m not really getting much reading done. Well, yes! I’ve moderated a book discussion for each year since we started these face-to-face discussions. I would have liked to sit out for a year but I get restless just trying to make the thought settle in my head.

Books Finished:

  • Austerlitz by W. G. Sebald – Mesmerizing. I keep putting off a review because the haunting feeling is too much (let’s not get started on the review backlog). 5 out of 5 stars.
  • Neuromancer by William Gibson – They say that this is a science fiction must-read because of how it saw the Internet’s future. Really, now? Bleech! 1 out of 5 stars.
  • The Quiet American by Graham Greene – Our book of the month. I’m going t read more of Greene’s books. 4 out of 5 stars.
  • Ubik by Philip K. Dick – A reread because of book club moderator duties that I raved about earlier. I still don’t know what happened though. I’m also going to listen to the audiobook version. 5 out of 5 stars.

Currently Reading:

  • The Bone Clocks by David Mitchell – On page 281 of 595. Halfway there! Just when you think that Mitchell is doing the same old trick, your mind and feelings go wild and you don’t care that it’s the same old tricks. Also, I picked this up because I want a favorite author to be the 300th read of my life (that’s according to my diligent and scrupulous cataloguing of books on Goodreads).
  • Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J. K. Rowling – On page 79 of 870. I’m not feeling this. Yet. Can you blame me if I delayed reading this for 18-19 months? But there’s 800 pages more to look forward to so we’ll see.
  • To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee – On page 56 of 323. Revisiting the first novel that I ever read. That was 17 years ago. I thank my English teacher and the owner of that copy I borrowed (he’s two years my senior). (Php 936.00, Fully Booked – Megamall, July 20)

Maybe:

  • Being Dead by Jim Crace
  • Family Life by Akhil Sharma
  • Rabbit Redux by John Updike
  • Song of Solomon by Toni Morrison
  • (I wish I could read another PKD novel but it’s so hard to find copies here. I want the following: Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep?; Flow My Tears, the Policeman Said; The Man in the High Castle; A Scanner Darkly; and The Three Stigmata of Palmer Eldritch. And I like the Mariner editions! However, I don’t think Electric Sheep is printed by Mariner Books. A bummer!)

New Books:

  • The Art of Fiction by John Gardner – I’m impressed by October Light and I want to see what he has to say about the process of writing. Also, I’m a sucker for books with such titles. (Php 20.00, a private library sale, July 18)
  • Brokeback Mountain by Annie Proulx – I’ve read this already but it’s so cheap! (Php 20.00, a private library sale, July 18)
  • Go Set a Watchman by Harper Lee – Of course I have to buy this! I would have bought this on the 14th, it’s release date, but copies had to be reserved. I thought I could just walk in any of the local book stores and pluck a copy from the book towers. But no. So I had to wait for two days, which isn’t that bad because I’ll be reading this in September for the book club. (Php 897.75, Fully Booked – Megamall, July 16)
  • Maurice by E. M. Forster – Posthumously published. I think the author was quite reluctant about getting this novel out there. (Php 20.00, a private library sale, July 18)
  • The Penguin French Dictionary – It’s the nearest thing that I could grab because I’m embarrassed to pay only Php 60.00 to the library owner. It’s not that I didn’t find his books amusing. It’s just that 1. I already have copies of some of his books, 2. there’s a lot of nonfiction than I could care about, 3. the books are precariously stacked so hunting can cause death, and 4. I’m limiting my purchases to books that are only on my must-buy list, which is a lie because none of these are on my must-buy list. (Php 20.00, a private library sale, July 18)
17 Comments

  1. I tried reading Neuromancer as well, but I found it too boring and dropped it after a while. It’s a good thing you were able to finish it! As I told another bookish friend (who gave up after his third attempt at reading it), the book was really big on the ideas but not the plot. Anyway, congrats on the first week of moderating Ubik! I think everyone’s been having a lot of fun so far :) Looking forward to the next weeks!

    Like

    • Neuromancer is too dense for me! I can’t reach the ideas it is presenting. In fact, I don’t remember it at all! Except for the shurikens, hehe. And thanks! It’s actually you guys who are making it fun. I’m just the moderator (with badass illusory powers). ;)

      Like

  2. Monique says

    Finally reading the book that made you a bibliophile years ago. And I’m reading an old copy as well! :D

    Like

  3. Now that you’ve mentioned HP5, I am trying to remember which part of the book I like best. I believe Umbridge is at the center of it. Do remind me when you’re done. :)

    Like

  4. I keep buying books and I get excited to read them, but then I find something else to read, and forget all about the ones I was first excited to read :P

    Anyway…I’m reading “Go Set a Watchman” now, and it’s surprisingly….compelling :)

    Like

  5. That’s great to hear about The Bone Clocks, I do want to read it eventually. And I cannot blame you in the least about Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix, it was one of my least favorites because Harry was such a whinny little prat!

    Like

Thoughts? Feelings?

