Book Reports
Comments 15

Book Report: April 2015

Book Report: April 2015

This is a great month for all things bookish. I’ve finished five books, reviewed five books, still reading four books, bought more than a dozen books, and hosted a bookish giveaway. Also, I’ve started using Goodreads again. I mean, I’m not just using it partially, like searching for reviews or joining our book club’s online activities. I’ve added all my books and shelves again. Not the reviews though; I’ve just resolved to put the links. Leafmarks is just too slow, which is unacceptable in this day and age.

Anyway, I’ll stop babbling now so that we can all enjoy the local holiday.

Books Finished:

Currently Reading:

  • Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz – On page 233 of 359. TFG’s book of the month this May. (Php 615.60, Fully Booked – The Fort, April 19)
  • Lila by Marilynne Robinson – On page 16 of 261. On hold. I haven’t touched it since March.
  • Neuromancer by William Gibson – On page 27 of 271. I’m putting this on my list of science fiction books for my book club discussion in August because two of my official selections have not arrived yet (and I only have three weeks left to scramble).
  • October Light by John Gardner – On page 154 of 498. Funny book!

Maybe:

  • Family Life by Akhil Sharma – This year’s winner of The Folio Prize, so I must have it and read it soon. (USD 12.72, The Book Depository, April 22)

New Books:

  • Plains Song by Wright Morris (Php 115.00, Book Sale – SM Megamall, April 6)
  • The Dream of the Red Chamber/The Story of the Stone by Cao Xueqin – I got Volumes I, III, IV, and V. Please help me find Volume II. (Php 200 each, Undertow Books, April 7)
  • Girl with Curious Hair by David Foster Wallace (Php 350.00, Undertow Books, April 7)
  • Hateship, Friendship, Courtship, Loveship, Marriage by Alice Munro (Php 300.00, Undertow Books, April 7)
  • History of Western Philosophy by Bertrand Russell – Seriously, why did they sell this for an amount cheaper than the shipping fee? (Php 25.00, Undertow Books, April 7)
  • The Hunters by James Salter – I’ll be damned if I don’t like Salter. This is my fourth and I don’t even have an idea how the man writes. (Php 175.00, Undertow Books, April 7)
  • The Lowland by Jhumpa Lahiri (Php 175.00, Undertow Books, April 7)
  • The Orphan Master’s Son by Adam Johnson (Php 225.00, Undertow Books, April 7)
  • Proud Beggars by Albert Cossery (Php 250.00, Undertow Books, April 7)
  • The Blue Fox by Sjón – Sjón is Icelandic and he is Björk’s friend. It might do me a lot of good to check out his works. (Php 180.00, Bookulaw, April 19)
  • From the Mouth of the Whale by Sjón (Php 160.00, Bookulaw, April 19)
15 Comments

  1. Oh hey, I just finished a Sjon book. The Whispering Muse. He is so lyrical and poetic. Although now that I think about it, the English translator should also be given credit for that. Anyway, Sjon writes songs for Bjork too.

    Like

  2. I read a Lahiri book late last year and loved it. I’ll be curious to see what you think of her book! Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  3. Monique says

    I also have Proud Beggars. And wow at the purchases from Undertow. :)

    Like

  4. Hmmm… you’re bank account cried last April 7. No, that is not a question. hahaha
    Will wait for your thoughts on Lila! :)

    Like

  5. Based on the books by James Salter that I’ve read, I think he’s a better short story writer than a novelist. I’m pretty sure that you will like him.

    Like

  6. Can you tell me more about Inverted World? I want to read Priest’s The Prestige but I’m afraid I might not have good critical distance from it, since the adaptation is one of my favorite Nolan movies. Maybe I’d be better served reading Inverted World first.

    Also, thanks for letting me know about Undertow Books, they’re making a huge dent on my paycheck…

    Like

    • That reminds me I should write something about it. But here’s a quick one: it’s about a group of people who is pulling their city away from some gravitational force by using a system of wheels, pulleys, and train tracks. If they don’t do this, the city will be crushed and they will perish. This force has caused the world to be shaped differently, kind of inverted from the inside. The protagonist will encounter an outsider and will learn what really is going on. So many things that can be discussed, and I’m surprised that I really got into a hard scifi novel (calculus is used to describe the shape of the world).

      Obviously, Undertow makes frequent dents on my paycheck, too!

      Like

Thoughts? Feelings?

