Book Reports
Comments 4

Book Report: March 2015

Book Report: March 2015

I unlocked a reading achievement last March. I finished Middlemarch. Yes, that 800-pager Victorian classic. And I love it! I hope to write a proper review of it soon. Since I followed a reading plan for Middlemarch and since I found myself in what I call a life situation, I only finished a couple of books. I’m worried that I won’t hit my reading goal of 52 books this year, but if I keep encountering books like Middlemarch, I wouldn’t mind the scant numbers.

Books Finished:

  • The God of Small Things by Arundhati Roy – 3 out of 5 stars. I’ve never felt so conflicted about a book, ever, so I settled with a mediocre 3. It’s also our book club’s book of the month.
  • Middlemarch by George Eliot – 5 out of 5 stars. Buddy read with H and Ycel. My first 5-star for this year, and we all agree that it’s a tough act to follow.

Currently Reading:

  • Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk by Ben Fountain – On page 172 of 307. No progress, but I’ll spend my Holy Week vacation finishing this.
  • High Fidelity by Nick Hornby – On page 105 of 245. Our book club’s pick for April.
  • Lila by Marilynne Robinson – On page 16 of 261. I was prompted to start it when it won the NBCC award for fiction, but I had to pause because of my reading commitments (the book club book and the buddy read).

Maybe:

  • Inverted World by Christopher Priest
  • October Light by John Gardner

New Books – None. What? This is not happening! But expect a deluge next month. I am waiting for three books from The Book Depository and I just paid for a dozen books at Undertow Books. Hah!

Here’s a couple of addenda to this report:

  • I’m retiring the TFG: The Book Club posts. If you’ve noticed, I haven’t posted anything about our book club since the start of this year. That’s not because I quit our book club. I’m just lazy. Besides, our book club events deserve their own home. Wink, wink.
  • I’ve been thinking of two topics that I wish to discuss in the near future: rating books and speed reading. I hope to dish out my “think piece” on each topic this month.

4 Comments

  1. I was surprised at how much I enjoyed Middlemarch even though it doesn’t sound like it when I go back and read my response to it. I can’t wait to see what you have to say about Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk. I’ve a copy on my Kindle and I feel like everyone had great things to say.

    Like

    • Billy Lynn’s LHW is a funny book. There are many things to say about it. I just resumed my reading and I’m immediately pulled in again. It’s like I just paused reading a couple of days ago.

      Liked by 1 person

Thoughts? Feelings?

