Whatnot
Comments 23

Four!

#FridayReads 2014

It’s my blog’s fourth birthday! To celebrate, I created a grid of my year in #FridayReads. Out of the 37 books that I read last year, I only missed three books for this … hobby. If you are curious, the books that I missed are The Bibliophile’s Devotional (a year-long read), Dwellers (borrowed), and Twisted 8 (borrowed).

Let’s further celebrate this day with … a contest. As usual, there is a prize. The winner for this year’s bloggy birthday giveaway will receive a book of his or her choice that is worth at most Php 1,000.00 (for local books) or USD 20.00 (for Book Depository). So what’s the contest?

In August, I will be moderating our science fiction book club discussion. I already have three titles in mind. I just finished typing them on my phone’s note app and took a screenshot of it as a proof. So, if you can guess any of the three books that I have selected, you stand a chance of winning. The participant who has the most number of correct guesses wins. In case of ties, the person who posted the earliest wins.

So hurry up! You can post up to ten guesses in the comments section below. Deadline is four days from now, which is on January 11, Sunday, 11:59 PM. If nobody guesses any of the titles, I guess I’ll just use the prize money for myself, tee-hee!

Your interactions with me through my bookish posts keep this blog alive. So thank you, thank you so much!

23 Comments

  1. I’m an absolute noob when it comes to science fiction, so I’d only bet on the mainstream titles I know thus far:

    George Orwell’s 1984? Ender’s Game? Kurt Vonnegut’s Slaughter House-Five?

    Congrats on four years of bookblogging! Here’s to many more years of awesome reads!

    Like

  2. Dune
    The Hitchiker’s Guide to the Galaxy
    Do Androids Dream Electric Sheep
    Foundation
    A Clockwork Orange
    A Wrinkle in Time
    Brave New World

    I think that makes 10 guesses :-P

    Like

  3. Monique says

    Slaughterhouse Five by Kurt Vonnegut
    Foundation by Isaac Asimov
    The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood
    The Left Hand of Darkness by Ursula K. LeGuin
    Brave New World by Aldous Huxley
    Snow Crash by Neal Stephenson
    Dune by Frank Herbert
    Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess
    The Drowned World by J.G. Ballard
    Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card

    Happy Bloggy Birthday, Book Rhapsody! :)

    Like

  4. Happy birthday to your blog, Angus!

    Here are my guesses:
    Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel
    Neuromancer by William Gibson
    A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess
    Slaughterhouse-Five by Kurt Vonnegut
    Snow Crash by Neal Stephenson
    White Noise by Don DeLillo
    The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood
    The Food of the Gods by H. G. Wells
    Brave New World by Aldous Huxley
    Ubik by Philip K. Dick

    Like

  5. Oh, wow. Tough, but I’ll try:

    Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card
    Dune by Frank Herbert
    The Time Machine by H.G. Wells
    The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood
    Flowers for Algernon by Daniel Keyes
    Babel-17 by Samuel R. Delaney
    The Dispossessed by Ursula K. Le Guin
    The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman
    The Yiddish Policemen’s Union by Michael Chabon

    Happy 4th birthday, Book Rhapsody!

    Like

  6. HNY, Angus! Let me try to guess the books:

    Dune by Frank Herbert
    Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury
    Starship Troopers by Robert Heinlein
    I, Robot by Isaac Asimov
    Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? by Philip K Dick

    Like

  7. Happy bloggy birthday! ♥

    To get into the spirit, I’ll hazard 2 guesses:
    Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel
    Annihilation by Jeff Vandermeer

    Like

Thoughts? Feelings?

