Book Reports
Comments 19

Book Report: December 2014

Book Report: December 2014

I am perfectly aware that I just did a 2014 annual report regarding my reading affairs but I’m still going to do the only regular thing on this blog so far: the monthly book report.

Books Finished:

  • The Bibliophile’s Devotional by Hallie Ephron – 3 out of 5 stars. I got this last year and decided to read one entry per day because it’s designed to be read that way (the truth is I binge-read them at the end of each month). A lot of the 365 quick reviews may inspire you to pick up the books. If not, they may at least whet one’s literary cravings.
  • Infinite Jest by David Foster Wallace – 4 out of 5 stars. I started this last September 2013. On page 500-something, I paused for a bit but it extended for some unknown reason. I went back to it in  the last quarter of 2014. Now I’m done. I did it! I actually don’t know how to summarize this book. Hence, that little story. But I’ll give it a try. It’s about the relationship of the dysfunctional Incandenzas among themselves, the life and routines of students at the Enfield Tennis Academy, the antics and the drama of the people recovering from alcohol and narcotics at the Ennet House, and the search for the master copy of the film Infinite Jest by the Assassins des Fauteuils Rollents aka the Wheelchair Assassins.

Currently Reading:

  • Ex Libris: Confessions of a Common Reader by Anne Fadiman – On page 45 of 162. I wanted this to be my first read of the year and so far, I’m enjoying the mutilations, I mean the marginalia, that I’m inserting here and there. It’s our book club’s traveling book, and I’m excited for the next person to see what stuff the previous readers and I have highlighted, written, dog-eared, etc.

Maybe – This is a new section on the monthly reports. I will merely mention the titles because, well, there is the probability that I might not read them.

  • Dream Angus: The Celtic God of Dreams by Alexander McCall Smith
  • October Light by John Gardner
  • Rabbit, Run by John Updike
  • Song of Solomon by Toni Morrison

New Books:

  • Macbeth by William Shakespeare – Haven’t I told you that I’m going to read more Shakespeare? (Php 188.10, National Book Store – Araneta Center, December 3)
  • Lila by Marilynne Robinson – A Christmas gift. Thank you! (from Veronica, December 6)
  • Open City by Teju Cole – A Christmas gift. Thank you! (from Louize, December 6)
  • Station Eleven by Emily St. John Mandel – I set my eyes on this prize, yahoo! (from the book club’s Christmas Auction, December 6)
  • A Room of One’s Own by Virginia Woolf – I found this pristine copy while waiting for a very late office mate. (Php 125.00, Book Sale – SM Mega Mall, December 13)
  • The Book of Illusions by Paul Auster – A Christmas gift. Thank you! (from Maria, December 15)
19 Comments

  1. I’m very curious about Station Eleven. From the summary it really isn’t my type of book, but it’s on every ‘best books of 2014’ list, so I’m conflicted whether I should read it or not.

    Like

    • I think it’s not a very “literary” book but it does seem to have a heart. I honestly still do not know the kinds of books that you like even after all these years of reading your blog! :D

      Like

    • Hahaha….I’ll take that as a compliment??

      Well, let’s just say that when I read the summary, I didn’t go “Wow, that sounds interesting, I want to read that! :P I usually don’t go for apocalyptic type books….

      Like

  2. Monique says

    OMG, “mutilations”! Hahaha. I don’t know what to say. :)) Did you already read the chapter in Ex LIbris about the two kinds of readers? :D

    Like

  3. I also have The Book of Illusions by Paul Auster, but I haven’t read it yet. I’ve never read a Paul Auster book….I wonder if he’s any good.

    BTW…Middlemarch??? :P

    Like

Thoughts? Feelings?

