Book Reports
Comments 14

Book Report: October 2014

Book Report: October 2014

October was a great bloggy month, thanks to the LSS feature that I’ve launched and the return of the annual Filipino Fridays. It was also great in terms of discovery. I had the opportunity to visit nice book stores outside our country (one has many great selections and one has many in-store events) and buy books from them. I decided that I will buy at least one book from any country that I might travel to in the future.

Finally, October was a great reading month. I may not have read a lot but look, I was able to finish amazing books. I am not sure what’s going on. Have I become a little too lenient and less critical in rating my books? Have I stumbled across a series of wonderful books (including the books that I read last month)? Am I in a very good mood to read? What?

Never mind the reason so long as I am happily reading and enjoying each book. That’s what matters most. Maybe it’s all that matters.

Books Finished:

  • Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie – 5 out of 5 stars. It feels like I read this a little too fast despite tackling extensively on race and class in the US and UK.
  • The Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat and Other Clinical Tales by Oliver Sacks – 4 out of 5 stars. Our book of the month last month.
  • The Mountain Lion by Jean Stafford – 5 out of 5 stars. That ending still took my breath away even though I knew right from the start that it’s going to happen.
  • Tinkers by Paul Harding – 5 out of 5 stars. A must reread. It feels like Paul Harding is the male Marilynne Robinson.
  • Twisted 8 by Jessica Zafra – 2 out of 5 stars. This month could have been a clean sweep but the essays feel dated and they’re not as funny as the ones in the previous installments.

Currently Reading:

  • Object Lessons by The Paris Review – Currently on page 84 of 358. I slowed down because I learned from a reliable source that the owner will not be coming home soon. No pressure to return this soon then.

New Books:

  • Gravity’s Rainbow by Thomas Pynchon – The Penguin Classics Deluxe Editions are hard to resist. I am not a fan of Pynchon but I am a fan of these editions. (Thb 270.00, Dasa Book Cafe, October 8)
  • Life and Times of Michael K by J. M. Coetzee – A Booker winner. I didn’t like his Disgrace but who knows? (Thb 150.00, Dasa Book Cafe, October 8)
  • Staying On by Paul Scott – Another Booker winner. (Thb 70.00, Dasa Book Cafe, October 8)
  • The Twin by Gerbrand Bakker – An IMPAC winner. (Thb 190.00, Dasa Book Cafe, October 8)
  • High Fidelity by Nick Hornby – Our book of the month for April 2015. (USD 7.00 , D’s Books, October 12)
  • The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton – When I read the blurb, I realized that I am already at the point where I’ll be reading novels by writers younger than me. I am so used to old or dead writers. I was unnerved when I learned that Catton was born a year after my birth year. I think Catton is going to be a first. (USD 8.00 , D’s Books, October 12)
  • Ingenious Pain by Andrew Miller – Another IMPAC winner. I’m so close to completing them. I need two more. (Php 75.00, Book Sale – City Land, October 25)
  • Walong Diwata ng Pagkahulog (Eight Muses of the Fall) by Edgar Calabia Samar – It’s a prize during our book discussion last week, but the winner already has a copy so she gave it to me. Thank you! (From Ranee, October 25)
14 Comments

  1. Loved both the Twin and Ingenious Pain, but I prefer Disgrace to Michael K. My guess is that Disgrace might have more impact when you are older. (So maybe I was too old for Michael K? Who knows.) Happy reading.

    Like

    • I thought I was too young for Disgrace. I would want to rearead it because I felt that I didn’t give it much thought. Happy reading, too.

      Like

  2. I am glad to see that you had a great reading month this October. Also, I enjoyed reading the LSS (even though I haven’t read most of the books listed) (but I’ve taken note of them and will add some of them on my TBR).

    Have an equally enjoyable reading month this November, Angus! :)

    Like

    • Thanks! The real point of the LSS is not to be a snob but to make recommendations. I’m glad to be achieving that point. :)

      Like

    • Yay! I’d read it early next year maybe. The upcoming holiday season tells me not to read big books because of the festivities.

      Like

  3. Monique says

    The Luminaries. Best book of the year for me. Yes, even better than The Bone Clocks and all my other five-starrers this year. :)

    Like

Thoughts? Feelings?

