Whatnot
Comments 12

Filipino ReaderCon 2014 – Filipino Friday 1: Surprise, Reader!

Filipino Friday

Hello, Filipino Friday! I welcome you with open arms. Your arrival could only mean one thing: Filipino ReaderCon 2014 is just around the corner.

Let us now get to Filipino Friday 1‘s topic, shall we?

Surprise, Reader! Hello, it’s the first week of Filipino Fridays 2014! Whether it’s your first time to participate or not, tell us a bit about yourself. More specifically, tell us about your favorite book discoveries for this year. Any author you started reading this year that you can’t get enough of? A book you didn’t think you’d like, but you ended up liking/loving? Any book series that you just have to get your hands on? Have you discovered anything new from Filipino authors this year?

Hi! I’m Angus, a technical writer and a member of Goodreads – The Filipino Group (TFG), an online/offline book club. Below are my responses to this week’s meme:

  • Favorite book discoveries for this year
    • The Mountain Lion by Jean Stafford – Darn those precocious kids!
    • Tenth of December by George Saunders – the deserving inaugural winner of The Folio Prize.
    • Winesburg, Ohio by Sherwood Anderson – my new all-time favorite.
  • Authors I started reading this year that I can’t get enough of – The same authors of the books above.
  • Books I didn’t think I’d like but ended up liking – I don’t have anything of that sort because I’ve long adapted a mindset of not pre-hating a book, but I do have books that I think I’d like but ended up disliking. They are:
    • If on a Winter’s Night a Traveler by Italo Calvino – overdone.
    • The Trial by Franz Kafka – convinced me that unfinished manuscripts should be left alone.
  • Book series that I just have to get my hands on
    • Harry Potter series by J. K. Rowling – I’ve munched on the first four installments during the 2013 Christmas season up to January 2014. I don’t understand why I couldn’t make myself read the fifth book.
    • Twisted series by Jessica Zafra – I’ve reread the latter installments, particularly 8 and 8 1/2.
  • Discoveries from Filipino authors this year – None, but I’m excited to get a print copy of Ana Tejano‘s Fall Like Rain.

That’s it for me. See you next week for the next installment!


For more information on the Filipino ReaderCon 2014, visit any of the following:

12 Comments

  1. I am so glad to see Filipino Fridays making the rounds in the blogosphere once again. ;)

    George Saunders is also one of my pleasant discoveries this year although I’ve only read Jon. I look forward to reading Tenth of December. And Harry Potter, I stopped re-reading at Book 3 and I wasn’t able to read entirely the last book the first time I read it (I only skipped to the last chapter to see how things will end hehehe)

    Happy Friday, Angus! Now, let me go back to my own FF post. :)

    Like

    • Have you read Book 5? Its thickness is kind of daunting and I think that’s what’s making me shy away from it.

      I’m looking forward to your own FF post. :)

      Like

  2. Maybe December, with Christmas Time being in the air again, might put you in the mood for the 5th Harry Potter installment. And hurrah to more George Saunders!

    Kwestyown: Is Winesburg, Ohio and The Mountain Lion, as tough as say To The Lighthouse? :D

    Like

    • Winesburg, Ohio is really a short story cycle. Even though it was published in the 1910s, there is a modern feel to it (you’ll probably laugh at what Anderson means with ‘adventures’).

      The Mountain Lion is also not tough. However, Stafford may drop some words here and there that one may have never heard of. These are rare, so don’t worry. :)

      And you know what? I was just thinking an hour ago that I might read HP5 in December!

      Like

  3. I am tempted to include Winesburg, Ohio in my “to read” list, to have an idea how it toppled Hunger in your all-time favorite spot. Hehe!

    I hope you read HP5 soon. :)

    Like

  4. Pingback: Filipino Fridays 2014 #1 Round-up | Filipino ReaderCon

Thoughts? Feelings?

