Whatnot, Writing 101: Class of 2014
Comments 2

So you want to hear a story told by a twelve-year-old?

Damaged. Ugh.

I’m not going to completely follow today’s Writing 101 prompt because it asks me to rewrite a story about the decline and fall of a family into poverty using the POV of a twelve-year-old. But I’m going to write a story that’s told by a twelve-year-old, at least someone like me 18 years ago.

Today’s prompt: write [a] story in first person, told by the twelve-year-old sitting on the stoop across the street.

Today’s twist: For those of you who want an extra challenge, think about more than simply writing in first-person point of view — build this twelve-year-old as a character. Reveal at least one personality quirk, for example, either through spoken dialogue or inner monologue.

I’m super pissed off because I’m supposed to be happy because it’s raining but I got the books that I ordered from The Book Depository and when I opened the packages, half of them are damaged. I just can’t stop whining so my roommate maybe got pissed off at me but I don’t care because I have to whine and complain. So usually I take pictures of them after I open the packages but now I have to put them under big stacks of books to flatten out the folds and the warps. Some of these books are gifts to my friends and I’m super shy because they should be new but they don’t look new. I don’t know who I’m mad at. So it’s not 100% TBD’s fault. Probably the local post office is pissed off because they can’t make extra money out of the books because they are books and they cannot be taxed and they cannot hold them at the post office so they just crammed the books into whatever. Is it not possibly to handle packages with care? I pay good money for books. They look like they’re from a yard sale and it makes me feel that they are not worth the money I paid for them. I hope I can feel better soon. I will feel better if the folds and warps are flattened. I cannot do anything about the creases anymore. Yes, there are creases, my gosh. I already emailed TBD about this with matching pictures. I did not demand a refund. I just want to let them know what happened and suggested if they could please improve their packaging to lower handling damages. And oh, I only got five bookmarks instead of seven. I ordered seven books and I should have seven bookmarks. And two of them have the same design so that’s like four bookmarks only. And I already have one of the other designs so it’s like I only got three bookmarks. So there. I guess I feel better.

2 Comments

Thoughts? Feelings?

