Whatnot, Writing 101: Class of 2014
Comments 11

What books are you scared of?

Scary books?

We will not talk of horror books. I have not read a lot of such. Horror movies do not appeal to me. So do horror books.

But horror is not the scariest. Hopelessness is scary. The inability to transcend is scary. The degradation of humanity is scary. Enough of it. Let us proceed to the titular question: what books are you scared of?

I picked three books:

  • Growth of the Soil by Knut Hamsun – Because I love the novels of Hamsun. I am scared that I will not love this.
  • Middlemarch by George Eliot – Because I want to read this. I am scared that its length will be too much for my attention span.
  • The Year of Magical Thinking by Joan Didion – Because Didion is scathing. I am scared that my heart will be battered.

You. What are you afraid of?

This is courtesy of today’s Writing 101 challenge.

We all have anxieties, worries, and fears. What are you scared of? Address one of your worst fears.

Today’s twist: Write this post in a distinct style from your own.

(Psst! Is my writing style different here?)

11 Comments

  1. Hmmm…a bit?

    What books am I scared of? Hmmm…mostly stream of consciousness books, so Virginia Woolf books, Ulysses and Infinite Jest and the like….they are scary and exasperating at the same time.

    I want to read Middlemarch too…..want to buddy read someday? :)

    Like

    • Hahaha anytime! I’ll wait for when you are not scared of it anymore. But let me know a few days or weeks ahead so I can go out and buy the book. I haven’t bought it yet because I feel that I won’t be able to trudge through it…:P

      Like

    • Yes Boss! There are nice,affordable copies at FB and NBS. It shouldn’t be hard to find. My copy is an imposing Modern Library edition from Book Sale.

      Like

  2. Books that touch on some sort of epidemic, or diseases. If it has words like septic, fester, infection….brrrrr…they will make me paranoid. And that is why I haven’t touched a zombie novel, because those two usually go together.

    And almost all classics, as well as those from Ayn Rand, Murakami….Aaaaand Dane’s fave author, Kurt Vonnegut, and his fave book, The Old Man and the Sea…XD

    Like

  3. ben says

    Read Growth of the Soil. It is his masterwork. Hamsun’s other books are great but this one is transcendent. Voice of God kind of thing.

    Like

Thoughts? Feelings?

