Whatnot, Writing 101: Class of 2014
Leave a Comment

Lost and Found Books

Where's the book?

Writing 101 challenges me to finish a three-part series that we’ve started a couple of weeks ago. We talked about Lost Books, we talked about Found Books, and for the third and last part, we’re going to talk about Lost and Found Books.

Imagine you had a job in which you had to sift through forgotten or lost belongings. Describe a day in which you come upon something peculiar, or tell a story about something interesting you find in a pile.

On day four, you wrote about losing something. On day thirteen, you then wrote about finding something. So, today’s twist: If you’d like to continue our serial challenge, also reflect on the theme of “lost and found” more generally in this post.

Lost and Found Books could be books that are at any Lost and Found counter. Duh! Let’s give it a more personal and exciting definition, shall we? Let’s put it into the following context: you love a book so much that it hurts, you feel the need to share its power with other readers, these other readers take on your recommendation, you part with the book with a burning hope that they’ll love it. The book is “lost” in the sense that its physical presence is not within the 5-meter radius of your daily existence, but at the moment when the reader-borrowers finish it, it will be “found” because its power has just been realized by them.

So, what Lost and Found Books do I have for this year? Having the above definition in mind, I don’t have any. But I hope I will have two soon. If you recall, or if you bothered to read the previous installments, our book club is hosting a year-long “I Dare You to Read…” challenge. The books that I have put up for this are Four Quartets by T. S. Eliot and A Personal Matter by Kenzaburo Oe. These are the two that I am hoping will become Lost and Found Books, but I haven’t heard from the borrowers yet.

The truth is, I am afraid that they will merely become Lost Books. You see, the borrowers are not from anywhere nearby. Would they even bother returning the books to me? I care because these two were among my favorite reads of 2013 and I would not mind rereading them, especially Eliot. But if I did care, why did I even lend these books?

It’s because of that burning hope. So Cris and Joy, finish the darn books already. Let’s make them Lost and Found.

Thoughts? Feelings?

