Whatnot, Writing 101: Class of 2014
Comments 6

If David Mitchell stopped writing books

Hi Angus. Hello David.

Think about an event you’ve attended and loved. Your hometown’s annual fair. That life-changing music festival. A conference that shifted your worldview. Imagine you’re told it will be cancelled forever or taken over by an evil corporate force.

How does that make you feel?

Today’s twist: While writing this post, focus again on your own voice. Pay attention to your word choice, tone, and rhythm. Read each sentence aloud multiple times, making edits as you read through. Before you hit “Publish,” read your entire piece out loud to ensure it sounds like you.

Writing 101’s challenge today is just perfectly timed. I’ll be talking about a bookish event, of course. I’m still reeling from all the good feels that I had since David Mitchell’s webchat yesterday.

What if it were cancelled?

I wouldn’t have minded it because I was at work and I couldn’t really mope at my desk had there been such an announcement. Besides, I wasn’t really expecting anything. It was a Q&A thing, and even if he didn’t answer my question, I would still get something from the answers that he gave the other questions.

But what if there will never be a webchat again ever because he decided to stop writing books and become a recluse?

I would be sad, only because I will not be able to read new books by him. I’m happy enough to have read all his novels. Look, he even said hi to me. Yes, it was only a webchat, but still, the literary fanboy in me was wild with positive feelings. That “hi” crossed from UK to the Philippines, much like his themes of souls crossing and recrossing lives.

My older self would have whined for months, but here, in my thirty-year-old skin, I would tell myself to shut up, treasure my Mitchell moment, print the webpage, and hang it in a frame (as suggested by my buddy Monique, who by the way alerted me about this). Some people are blind. Some people can’t read. Some people don’t read him. Some people will never get a hi from him.

So yes, I would be sad. A happy kind of sad.

6 Comments

Thoughts? Feelings?

