Whatnot, Writing 101: Class of 2014
Comments 2

A letter to HoL

When?

Dear HoL,

We met last September 13, 1012 at the Manila International Book Affair. Remember? Louella introduced you to me. She’s this perky and petite friend of yours who loves to talk about books. Big books. We talked about David Foster Wallace, Murasaki Shikibu, and you. Her eyes lit up at the mention of your name. I think he’s around, she said. Indeed, you were.

We instantly became friends. We weren’t that close though because I could hardly read you. You were a mystery. Still a mystery, I guess. Every chapter of your life is a radical departure from previous ones. What should I do with you? Oh right, I should introduce you to Jonathan Franzen, Christina Stead, George Eliot, and William Faulkner. They will get along with you. You are all big boys and girls, so why not hang out together in a special corner of the neighborhood?

You were introduced to my other friends. You were quite popular. That’s when I decided that you and I and my friends should all hang out together. But that never happened despite all the planning. Life always gets in the way, you see. A year later, you became best friends with Sigrid Undset. You always hung out together, never parting from each other since you two met.

Another year passed by. I saw you, nearly sinking into decrepitude. You called me, I called you. Does it matter? I helped you get up, dusted your sleeve, and said hey, how are you? Try to keep your stuff together, will you? I can’t apologize for ignoring you for almost two years because that would mean apologizing to a lot of people. A lot.

I scoured my memories of you. You let me take a peek inside your life. Page 29, you said. I closed my eyes, pointed my finger somewhere near the center of the page, opened my eyes, and read “when”.

When?

In ten days. We’ll hang out with Monique. Maybe others would like to hang out with the three of us. I’ll let you know. We’ll have a great time. See you.

Best,

Angus

[Today’s Writing 101 challenge]

Pick up the nearest book and flip to page 29. What’s the first word that jumps off the page? Use this word as your springboard for inspiration. If you need a boost, Google the word and see what images appear, and then go from there.

Today’s twist: write the post in the form of a letter.

2 Comments

Thoughts? Feelings?

