Whatnot, Writing 101: Class of 2014
Comments 6

Found Books

Thank gosh I found Book?

Last week, we talked about Lost Books, the first of a three-installment series. Writing 101 now tells us to talk about the second installment:

On day four, you wrote a post about losing something. Today, write about finding something.

Today’s twist: if you wrote day four’s post as the first in a series, use this one as the second installment — loosely defined.

That pretty much explains today’s post. At least I wouldn’t have to not follow the prompt as it is because I don’t want to think of a twist to the twist. I’m tired as of this moment. I haven’t had dinner and I’m too lazy and I just want to sleep but I’m not sleepy and I want to do this challenge and read a book after and you don’t really need to know about these.

A few months ago, I went home from a book club meeting with a stash of borrowed books. I acknowledge my book hoarding issues but let me assure you that I’m a responsible book borrower and it’s not a habit, yet, that has gone out of control (the books were lent and borrowed for our book club’s year-long “I Dare You to Read…” challenge.

The books I brought home with me were:

  • Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix by J. K. Rowling – I just finished the fourth book during that month and I wanted to read this instantly until I saw what a badass doorstopper it is. I gulped.
  • Attachments by Rainbow Rowell – Dared, done, and didn’t. It is in contention for my worst read of the 2014. I feel terrible because a lot of my book club friends love it. But it would be worse if I fake it, right? [Other books dared to me were The Fault in Our Stars by John Green (done) and Alice in Wonderland by Lewis Carroll (to borrow).]
  • Object Lessons by The Paris Review – Recommended to me by Bennard because he thought … well, I don’t remember what he thought. I imagine he thought that I would find it helpful in my own fiction writing.
  • The Myth of Sisyphus and Other Essays by Albert Camus – It just made its way into my stash. No identification marks. I asked the club for the owner. No reply. I checked Goodreads. Nobody owns it aside from my other friends who weren’t at the monthly book club meet. It occurred to me that I may have unknowingly swooped it from one of the café’s shelves that had a small pile of books on it. It was a pretty rowdy day and I was hurrying I should return it to the cafe, right?

I have some cases against it:

  • The café is quite far from where I live.
  • It’s a book by a Nobel laureate, why give it up?
  • It might be depressed because it’s just used as a shelf display.
  • Are they even looking for it?
  • It’s meant for me.

These officially make me a book thief. Beware! Anyway, how about you? Is there a book that found its way to you?

6 Comments

    • And why are you replying at this hour?? Hahaha! Yes, I’m replying at 4 AM. Hay. I’ve been sleeping at 6 AM for the past weeks. This is insomnia, I guess?

      Like

    • Haha kala ko sa call center ka nagtatrabaho at nagbo-blog ka sa office :-P

      Ah, ung mabait kong anak mahilig gumising ng madaling araw kaya madalas din akong gising…haay…

      Like

    • Tatlo sila, may magnet sila sa ilalim so dumidikit sila sa isang metallic post. Useful to flag notes pero naglagay lang ako ng picture ng muse ko, haha.

      Sa bahay na ako nagbblog. Medyo busy na sa work eh, hehe. Pasilip-silip na lang sa mga sites. Kapag mabait na si baby mo magkape naman tayo! :)

      Like

Thoughts? Feelings?

