Whatnot, Writing 101: Class of 2014
Comments 4

The Book as an Envelope to Lost Letters

Who brightens the person's day?

There is nothing philosophical in the title if you thought of lost letters as the units that form words (i.e. the alphabet). I’m referring to letters as that medium of communication before all these technological advances.

Have you ever found random letters inside your books? Let’s exclude the dedications found at the first pages. There are more chances to find letters in used books, right? I found library index cards, receipts, bus tickets, pressed flowers, wax paper, and bookmarks. Never letters.

Recently, I found a Starbucks note stuck in a book that I lent to a friend. Is the note for me? For another person? For the book? If it’s the book, I’d raise my eyebrows. The book, by the way, is José Saramago’s The Gospel According to Jesus Christ.

This is still part of the Writing 101 sessions. Today’s task is the following:

You stumble upon a random letter on the path. You read it. It affects you deeply, and you wish it could be returned to the person to which it’s addressed. Write a story about this encounter.

Today’s twist: Approach this post in as few words as possible.

Please share your epistolary stories for I have none. Happy Weekend!

4 Comments

  1. I once found a postcard inside a used book. It was The Eyre Affair by Jasper Fforde, I think. It said something like this: I am having a great time in somewhere somewhere …This book is a little strange but I hope you enjoy it. Well, I guess the person did not enjoy it, considering that I bought it from a bargain bookstore. Haha. Or maybe he enjoyed it but just needed some dough.

    And you found wax paper?

    Like

  2. Monique says

    I only find the occasional receipt and bookmark, but not letters. :)

    Like

Thoughts? Feelings?

