Whatnot, Writing 101: Class of 2014
Comments 8

Lost Books

In Search of Lost Books

Day Four. I’m still here despite the previous post. It’s like I mourned for the loss of something, no?

Speaking of loss, have you experienced losing books, particularly a favorite book? How did you react? Did you replace the lost item? Tell me!

But let me tell you these stories first.

Lost Book #1: Twisted by Jessica Zafra

Twisted is the title of the local writer’s column in a national broadsheet. It talked about books, movies, events, pop culture, etc., with a dose of irony. It was a hit among us, the angst-ridden kids, and it had a good run in the 90s and 2000s. Selected pieces from the column were compiled into a series of Twisted books that reached a dozen (including Twisted Flicks and Twisted Travels). The first installment is my favorite. Since it is my favorite, I wanted my friends to read it. I talked to Sam about it. She borrowed it. It never got back to me.

Sam and I are no longer friends. Silly me, why did I think that I’d be friends with her? We were not even classmates and she only stayed at the university for one semester. Just because a pretty college girl stays away from crowds and wears wayfarer eyeglasses and pretends to write doesn’t mean that she’s cool. Now the book is out of stock and probably out of print. There’s nothing worse than this kind of book thievery. Apparently, I’m not over this. It has been nearly a decade.

Okay, it’s my fault. I don’t know her too well. I shouldn’t have lent it to her. I could’ve said whoops, I forgot to bring the book with me, etc. But she looks so sweet and fragile. Until I saw her smoke Marlboro reds. I should’ve suspected something.

Lost Book #2: Children Around the World by ?

I do not even know who’s the author of this book. I’m pretty sure it’s by various authors. Let’s be honest, this is not my book. It’s my aunt’s book. How could I lose something that I do not own?

My aunt’s family had to move to the Middle East so a lot of their stuff were left to our care. One of these was their book shelf filled with Collier’s Encyclopedia and various religious books (my aunt is a pastor’s wife). There were some children’s books as well. I was attracted to this one book because of the cover. It had children, dressed in national costumes, holding each other’s hands and orbiting the earth. I took it off the shelf, read it, loved it, reread it, memorized the first poem, returned it to the shelf, and my aunt’s family came back to the Philippines and they took their stuff and I forgot to ask if I could have the book and it’s lost.

Maybe I should contact my aunt and ask if she still has that book.

Lost Book #3: My X-Men Adventures Comic Books (I’m pretty sure I have volumes 1-3)

Let’s not even talk about that for I might slash my wrists. And oh, here’s today’s Writing 101 challenge:

Write about a loss: something (or someone) that was part of your life, and isn’t any more.

This doesn’t need to be a depressing exercise; you can write about that time you lost the three-legged race at a picnic. What’s important is reflecting on this experience and what it meant for you — how it felt, why it happened, and what changed because of it.

Today’s twist: Make today’s post the first in a three-post series.

The first of a three-post series? Following the previous post, this seems like the second installment already.

8 Comments

  1. I recently realized I lost a favorite book of mine, ‘The Know-It-All’ by AJ Jacobs. I’m still hoping it turns up!

    Like

  2. Monique says

    The only books I lost (and miss, of course) are the Sweet Dreams books that I lent and were never returned. I miss them and I resent the people who borrowed them because they’re part of a collection that I’m still trying to complete. And it sucks because these are out of print, so yeah.

    Like

    • Are you still in touch with those people? I think it’s fine if the lost book is available in book stores because it gives you a sense of comfort, that you can buy it again. But out of print books? Grrr!

      Like

    • Monique says

      Not anymore. I think I waited for them to return the books, and then we parted ways without them ever giving them back. :(

      Like

  3. I think I have about 5 books lent to the same person, like about a year and half ago. And I have a feeling you’ll scream at me for this because it sounds a bit irrational. Haha. But I am sort of embarrassed to ask for it back, even though I have seen her multiple times since then, and I have her number and all. Well, I know she means to return them and has just forgotten to because she got a Kindle and e-books swelled her TBR considerably…and she’s a lovely person and lent me books over the years and gives me food. Lol! Besides I’m pretty sure those books aren’t out of print. Okay, long comment is long. :)

    Like

Thoughts? Feelings?

