Book Reports
Comments 8

Book Report: April 2014

Book Report: April 2014

Would you believe that more than half of the books that I finished for this year were done in April? And they say that April is the cruelest month. No, it’s really T. S. Eliot who said that. And for once, I have to disagree with him.

Actually, my reading interest was in full blast thanks to the hashtag that my bookish friends came up with for the whole month of April. The group spirit was irresistible. Now I just want to read until my eyes bleed, and that just couldn’t be. May could turn out to be my cruelest month because of the tasks that I have to do, both in my literary and real life. After I finish my writing project, I hope to go back to book reviewing. If you’re still there, there’s something to look forward to aside from my quick updates and documentation of book club activities (I somehow ended up as a secretary).

So here’s my reading accomplishment.

Books Finished:

  • Atonement by Ian McEwan – 5 out of 5 stars. A reread via audiobook. First time I read this, I was wowed. I’m still wowed this second time. I merely eavesdropped on my bookish friends’ reading (eavesdropping is when you informally and casually join a buddy reading because a.) you’ve already read the book, or b.) you don’t want to commit yourself).
  • If on a Winter’s Night a Traveler by Italo Calvino – 2 out of 5 stars. I wanted to at least like this but it just didn’t happen.
  • Tenth of December by George Saunders – 5 out of 5 stars. We discussed this in The Folio Prize group that I created on Goodreads (join us for future discussions of The Folio Prize winners). All of us who participated love this collection of short stories.
  • To the Lighthouse by Virginia Woolf – 5 out of 5 stars. Our book of the month for May. I had to finish this ahead of everyone because I am the discussion leader (also for my own pleasure because subsequent rereadings will be for more uhm, academic purposes). I reread it on text and audio. Hmm, I am developing a love for audiobooks.
  • The Trial by Franz Kafka – 1 out of 5 stars. All I can say is, I am finally done! Perhaps I should have read his Metamorphosis first?

Currently Reading:

  • Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel – Currently on page 211 of 604. No touch. Maybe in June, when I don’t have a lot of things to do.

New Books:

  • The Beggar Maid by Alice Munro – A birthday gift because it’s on my wish list. Thank you! (From Miss Ronnie, April 26)
  • Bring Up the Bodies by Hilary Mantel – I have yet to finish Wolf Hall, and now this? I cannot resist it. It’s brand new and it somehow ended up on a sale bin. (Php 100.00, National Book Store – Robinson’s Galleria, April 4)
  • The Wedding of Zein by Tayeb Salih – A birthday gift because it’s an NYRB Classic. Thank you! (From Bennard, April 26)
8 Comments

  1. Thank you for eavesdropping in Atonement, Angus. Your reactions/teasers really motivated me to read on.

    Oh, how I would love to attend your F2F, huhuhu.

    P.S. Happy birthday again! :)

    Like

    • They did? I was just being talkative, haha! But you’re welcome. I’m happy that you finished it. Another common book!

      Like

  2. I do love Atonement! I have to say I did enjoy the undeniable pretentiousness of ‘If on a Winter’s Night a Traveller’ because I am a fan of metafiction but I can understand why some people find it annoying.

    Like

    • Most of us didn’t like it that Calvino novel. I found it, at some point, both hilarious and ridiculous. One suggested that we read it super slowly. Not sure if that will work for me. :D

      Like

  3. Oh, belated happy birthday!

    You love your TPBs, don’t you? 5 out of 5 for McEwan! Woot woot! Amsterdam is such a satisfying read, yes? I recall turning the last page and just thinking, “What the hell was that?”

    Like

    • Thanks, Peter. I love TPBs but I don’t mind MMPs. In fact, my copy of Amsterdam is a battered MMP. After three novels, I can definitely say that I love McEwan. I’m sure I’ll be satisfied with Amsterdam. :)

      Like

Thoughts? Feelings?

