Ex Libris
Comments 9

Holiday Books

Gifts Galore

 

Here are the books that I got over the 2013 holidays.

  • The Fifty Year Sword by Mark Z. Danielewski – 50% off. And because I like touching and scanning Danielewski’s books. (Php 520.00, November 29, Fully Booked – Rockwell)
  • The Bibliophile’s Devotional by Hallie Ephron – I got this because I was a badass student at TFG Hogwarts. Thanks! (From Alexa, December 21)
  • The Silver Linings Playbook by Matthew Quick – “Theory for happy ending. Life’s perspective. Book turned to movie as Phil Wenneck meets Katniss Everdeen.” That’s the description sent by the giver but for the life of me, I didn’t get it (because I didn’t know who that Wenneck guy is). I just heard others saying the title. No regrets though. I love the movie. Thanks! (From Aenna through The White Elephant Exchange, December 21)
  • Indignation by Philip Roth – Because it’s hard to abandon a book. Thanks! (From Bennard through The Book Pile, December 21)
  • Cain by José Saramago – Oi, I must go back to reading Saramago. Thanks! (From Maria through The Owlery, December 21)
  • Dead Souls by Nikolai Gogol – Something to add to my scant collection of NYRB Classics. Thanks! (From Bennard through The Owlery, December 21)
  • Maggie Cassidy by Jack Kerouac – I got this because I am supposed to hate it? Thanks! (Gift from Ella through The Owlery, December 21)
  • The Way to Paradise by Mario Vargas Llosa – I got this because? Thanks! (Gift from Jonathan, January 1)

This year’s book hoarding “resolution”: I’m going to focus on NYRB Classics. I know I’ve been saying this since August. But what can I do? The titles that I want are hard to find. My interest was refueled when a new bookish friend recommended The Mountain Lion by Jean Stafford and Riders in the Chariot by Patrick White. Also, A Month in the Country by J. L. Carr was recommended to me for my writing project. I hope I could find them three, and some of the 60+ others in my NYRB wish list.

And oh, thanks for all the book covers, bookmarks, cards, CDs, DVDs, eco bags, erasers, food, notepads, planners, and shower creams (?) that I got. You know who you are. :)

9 Comments

  1. I think you’ll be surprised by Silver Linings Playbook. I read the book and then saw the movie and the two are very different stories. I liked them both for different reasons. I hope you enjoy it!

    Like

  2. Dead Souls is not as polished as Gogol’s short stories. But the same comic quality and social criticism is there as in his more surreal and absurd short fiction. Good luck reading all that. Those books by Saramago and Llosa look good. :)

    Like

    • Not sure if I’ve already read a Gogol short story or not. I think I may have because of all those short story anthologies that I read before. Thanks! My roomie already read Cain. He read it before I even got to sign my name on it and said it’s great (not surprising).

      Like

Thoughts? Feelings?

