Whatnot
Comments 25

Three

Three

Three

Oi, I always nearly forget. It’s BR’s bloggy birthday today! I have nothing special in mind because there are a lot of things crammed inside my head. Anyway, I’ve seen a couple of friends do a 2013 survey of sorts. It feels like a good idea to follow suit as a part of the celebration.

  • No. of Books Read: 52
  • No. of Pages Read: 12, 568
  • Male Authors Read: 35
  • Female Authors Read: 10
  • Reviews Written: 16
  • Fiction: 48
    • Novels/Novellas: 35
    • Plays: 2
    • Poems: 2
    • Short Stories: 8
  • Nonfiction: 4
  • Other Shelves:
    • All Time 100 Novels: 5
    • Borrowed: 6
    • The Classics Club: 10
    • IMPAC Literary Award: 0
    • Man Booker Prize: 1
    • Modern Library: 1
    • National Book Award: 1
    • NBCC Award: 2
    • Nobel: 14
    • Philippine Lit: 3
    • Pulitzer Prize: 1
    • Radcliffe’s Rival: 0
    • Reread: 3
    • The Novel 100: 5
  • Ratings:
    • 5-stars: 22
    • 4-stars: 15
    • 3-stars: 11
    • 2-stars: 3
    • 1-star: 1

And then what? There’s the annual contest, but I haven’t thought about anything. Let me think for a few minutes. Okay, just post a greeting and a book that you would recommend to me this year. I wish to see a book title and its author, not a list of books or a genre.

Since this is late, I’ll let the contest run for a week. Deadline is on January 14, 11:59 PM. This is open to all the bloggy friends who made at least three comments in the past. The prize is a locally available book of his or her choice (not more than Php 1,000.00). I’ll give or send the book to you wherever you are from (address details will be dealt with once you’ve won). Just give me time to hunt for the book, okay?

The winner will be selected by drawing lots. I really don’t like this, but let’s do it for the lack of any other method. Thanks in advance!

25 Comments

  1. Happy Anniversary!

    Looks like you had a good year – lots of 5 stars reads! Hope this coming year bring you many more! Cheers.

    Like

  2. Happy blogoversary, Book Rhapsody! I recommend A Separate Peace by John Knowles. Just read it! =)

    (pinag-isipan mo tong blog post mo noh? hahahaha!)

    Congrats, Chami!

    Like

  3. Belated happy bloggy birthday, Book Rhapsody!

    I think I’m gonna join the birthday giveaway because I want to celebrate with you but gah, I’m having a hard time thinking about which book to recommend to you that you might like. Maybe something by Jonathan Safran Foer? (That is, if you haven’t read his books yet, such as Everything Is Illuminated.)

    Like

  4. Happy third bloggy birthday! :D Magkasunod nga pala yung satin. (Writing my blog’s birthday post now!)

    Okay, and sige, I’ll join your contest, maiba lang. I just checked our shelves and realized you don’t have a Jasper Fforde in it. Perhaps you’d like to try The Eyre Affair? :)

    Like

  5. Happy Birthday to your blog, Angus and congratulations for the three years.:D

    Anyway, let me join your contest because I like stuff like these.:) I would recommend Monstress by Lysley Tenorio. I think you would like it especially if you like immigrant fiction.:) Plus it’s written by a fellow Filipino.:)

    Like

    • Thanks, Benny! I was supposed to attend the book signing last year but my schedule got too tight (I really just forgot it, haha).

      Like

  6. Monique says

    Why did I see this only now?? Happy bloggy birthday, Book Rhapsody! :D

    Since you’re branching out to other genres and (occasionally) stepping out of your comfort zone, I’m recommending one of the YA books I nominated for the TFG Book Reco fair – Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli. I think you’ll enjoy it, and even if you don’t, well, it’s a thin book. Haha. Seriously, I think you’ll appreciate it.

    See you soon, Buddy! :)

    Like

  7. swright9 says

    Happy anniversary. I’m drawing a bit of a blank for the annual contest, but perhaps I’ll recommend Somerset Maugham’s “The Razor’s Edge” if you haven’t already read it. It’s a good one. Cheers.
    http://www.thecuecard.com/

    Like

    • Thanks, SGW! I have his Of Human Bondage, but it takes gut to read it. Just look at the number of pages! A friend has read The Razor’s Edge, so yes, I’ll take it into consideration. :)

      Like

Thoughts? Feelings?

