Reading
Comments 4

Books to Read: December 2013

Books to Read: December 2013

These are the books that I finished last month and the last books that I’ll be reading this year. And, sadly, this is going to be my last reading plan, at least for the mean time.

I’ve already mentioned something about this in a previous post. I’ve been quite busy, and as of late, I prefer reading whatever book that gets my attention right there and then. Besides, I’ll be working on a writing a project at the start of 2014. That is going to eat whatever’s left of my time, which isn’t much as one can see from the lack of posts on this blog. Actually, I’m already working on little drafts here and there, outlines, and notes. So yeah, planned reading is not something that would be helpful in that regard.

In addition, I’ve dropped a lot of books from the reading plans this year. Last month is no exception from this. If you’re curious what these books are, check them out below:

  • The Collected Stories of Lydia Davis – well, I just couldn’t get around to reading it. I think was too infatuated with Carver’s stories. Or perhaps I was merely intimidated.
  • House of Leaves by Mark Z. Danielewski – there’s supposed to be a reading group for this, but it never materialized. Maybe next year?
  • The Hunger Angel by Herta Müller – I was really going to read this had Doris Lessing not died. Yeah, I replaced this with one of Lessing’s books.
  • Infinite Jest by David Foster Wallace – I’m halfway through this, and I’m just going to put it on hold for a short time.
  • Les Miserables by Victor Hugo – I’ve been reading this since January. No, it has been around since last year. I’m putting it on indefinite hold. Finally. I’m honestly relieved.
  • A Lover’s Discourse by Roland Barthes – borrowed it, read the introduction, read the first few pages, then returned it. I wasn’t in the mood for such discourses, so I did the right thing, right?
  • A Midsummer Night’s Dream by William Shakespeare – I was supposed to attend a book discussion of this play, but schedule conflicts are conflicts. So there. I didn’t even bother.

Going back, here are The Stacks:

The Left Stack (books I must read and finish):

  • The Grass Is Singing by Doris Lessing – replaced this with The Hunger Angel because of her death. Currently on page 143.
  • Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J. K. Rowling – our last book of the month for the year. Currently on page 113.
  • How Fiction Works by James Wood – currently on page 39.
  • The Sound and the Fury by William Faulkner
  • Swann’s Way by Marcel Proust – currently on page 161.
  • To the Lighthouse by Virginia Woolf
  • The Trial by Franz Kafka

The Right Stack (books I have finished):

  • Four Quartets by T. S. Eliot – 5 out of 5 stars.
  • Gimpel the Fool and Other Stories by Isaac Bashevis Singer – 3 out of 5 stars.
  • The New York Trilogy by Paul Auster – 5 out of 5 stars.
  • Short Cuts by Raymond Carver – Not part of the November Reading Plan. 5 out of 5 stars.
  • Six Characters in Search of an Author by Luigi Pirandello – 3 out of 5 stars.
  • Small Memories by José Saramago – 5 out of 5 stars.

Here’s to hoping that I can squeeze in a lot of reading for the holidays!

4 Comments

Thoughts? Feelings?

