Reading
Comments 9

Books to Read: November 2013

Books to Read: November 2013

Whoa! I am not going to read all these books for November alone. Actually, these are the books that I finished (just a couple) and that I plan to read for the remaining days of the year. Why am I doing it differently this time? Because, sadly, I am saying goodbye to monthly reading plans next year.

This is another change that I am experiencing as a reader. I just feel like picking whatever piques my curiosity, which is the case with Marcel Proust. Who knows, I might become a more prolific reader if I just pick books that I feel like reading at the moment. And who knows, I might return planning what I want to read.

Anyway, I am very excited with my picks for the last quarter year (which I all hope to finish so that I could complete my third Goodreads Reading Challenge). I have selected books from Nobel laureates, some modernist novels, the last two books of the month, and the spillover tomes. Here they are:

The Left Stack (books I must read and finish):

  • Nobel Laureates:
    • Four Quartets by T. S. Eliot – Nobel reading for poems.
    • Gimpel the Fool and Other Stories by Isaac Bashevis Singer – Nobel reading for short stories.
    • The Hunger Angel by Herta Müller – Nobel reading for novels.
    • Six Characters in Search of an Author by Luigi Pirandello – Nobel reading for plays.
    • Small Memories by José Saramago – Nobel reading for memoirs.
  • Books of the Month:
    • Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J. K. Rowling – December’s book of the month.
    • The New York Trilogy by Paul Auster – November’s book of the month.
  • Modernist Literature:
    • Swann’s Way by Marcel Proust – November 2013 celebrates its 100th publication anniversary. I read somewhere that it’s November 8 but my edition says its November 14.
    • The Sound and the Fury by William Faulkner – a nominee for May 2014’s book discussion that I volunteered to moderate.
    • To the Lighthouse by Virginia Woolf – another nominee.
    • The Trial by Franz Kafka – and another.
  • The Tomes:
    • Infinite Jest by David Foster Wallace – from May. Currently on page 538.
    • Les Miserables by Victor Hugo – from January. Currently on page 575.

The Right Stack (books I have finished):

  • The Love of a Good Woman by Alice Munro – not part of the October reading plan. The author’s win sparked the Nobel themed list above. 4 out of 5 stars.
  • Tigana by Guy Gavriel Kay – not in the photo because I already returned the copy that I read from its valiant owner, Aaron (thank you!). From October. 4 out of 5 stars.
9 Comments

  1. To The Lighthouse! I recently downloaded a copy out on a whim seeing that it has also high Goodreads ratings. I’m planning to read it next year, if I don’t forget/ distracted by other books haha.

    Good luck to finishing your goal, Angus! :)

    Like

Thoughts? Feelings?

