Whatnot
Comments 6

Filipino ReaderCon 2013 – Filipino Friday 3: The Pinoy Book Drop

Filipino Friday

Filipino Friday

The 3rd installment of the Filipino Friday, a meme that is a sort of preparation for this year’s Filipino Reader Conference, is an interactive activity called The Pinoy Book Drop. It’s basically leaving a favorite book (and yes, as the title implies, you can actually drop the books) anywhere.

Did I or did I not participate?

Did you participate in the Pinoy Book Drop?

If yes:
–  First, kindly detail all the books that you have dropped, and where and when you dropped them.
– Next: tell us all about your experience. How did you feel before and after you dropped the books? How did you choose the places where you dropped them? Did you check back and see if the books were still there? Do you have any idea who might have found them?

If no:
– Tell us about your most memorable or favorite book hunting experience. Have you ever found a book in a most unexpected place? If you find a dropped book somewhere, what would you do with it? Where do you get your books nowadays? Do you still go to bookstores, or do you buy/order books online?

Yes, I did participate. I chose books that I both love and have extra copies. These books are the following:

To the Lighthouse by Virginia Woolf

Dropped today at Starbucks – Podium, around 2 PM. I detoured from my normal route to work so that I could pass by this branch. The upper floor has a couple of patrons. One of them kept looking at me. It was a little unnerving because he’s a hot guy in his late 30s (a hot daddy, yes). But I didn’t want to spend too much time at both taking photos of the book and at ogling this guy. When I stood up, he stared his last stare. I think he’s aware of my intentionally dropping the book. I know he saw me taking pictures of it. I hope he might pick it up. I wish he would. Perhaps I should have left my contact details?

I chose to drop To the Lighthouse here because I noticed that most of the people here are older. I suppose a modernist novel would have more appeal to an older person (but really, appeal is relative and has little to do with age).

The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

Dropped today at Coffee Bean – Emerald, around 2:15 PM. This was an easy drop because the al fresco area is nearly empty.

I chose to drop The Hobbit here because I see some kids around this area. When my team mates and I went out for our break, I checked the table where I left it. Fortunately, somebody adopted it. I’m a happy book dropper!

The 3rd Filipino ReaderCon 2013

The 3rd Filipino ReaderCon 2013

6 Comments

  1. “I hope he might pick it up. I wish he would. Perhaps I should have left my contact details?”

    Hmmm. Double motives, huh?
    Maybe when you take another detour to that branch again, he might thank you for the book. :)

    Like

  2. You’re right, appeal is relative and little to do with age but your generalization is understandable. –The hotty was probably curious to see what you were up to.

    Like

  3. Hello, Angus! I didn’t join this year’s book drop nor last year’s. I don’t wanna leave my babies lying around. Hehehehehe. See you in this week’s Filipino Friday!

    Like

Thoughts? Feelings?

