Whatnot
Comments 2

Filipino ReaderCon 2013 – Filipino Friday 2: Kids and Books

Filipino Friday

Filipino Friday

We still have 22 days left before the 3rd Filipino Reader Conference. So instead of counting, let’s do the 2nd installment of this year’s Filipino Fridays.

The topic? Here it is:

What were your favorite books as a kid or while you were growing up? Do you still read children’s books? If you could give your younger self a book to read, what would it be?

My favorite books as a kid are fairy tales and comic books! I devoured Beauty and the Beast and Aladdin, plus the X-Men Adventures (basically the comic book version of the cartoon series). Then I started buying fairy tales from the school supplies section of the neighborhood supermarket. I also collected those Nido milk fairy tales.

There’s also this book called Children around the World. I got it from an aunt’s book shelf. It’s a collection of short stories about children from different countries and culture. I even memorized the opening poem and recited it during one talent show at my elementary school (Some children are brown like newly baked bread…).

Another book that I devoured was my 1993 atlas. But that was me being a smart-ass, hahaha. I have to admit though that I enjoyed copying and tracing the maps on onion skin paper. I thought I was going to become a geographer or a cartographer or something. Obviously, I didn’t.

I seldom read children’s books now. I only do so when our book club picks a children’s book as the BotM. However, I read The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe recently because it’s really slim and I need such books to catch up with my Goodreads Reading Challenge (heh).

If I would give books to my younger self, these would be The Chronicles of Narnia, Harry Potter, and Percy Jackson and the Heroes of the Olympus. Yeah, I’ve never read these three series except that one book from Narnia. The idea of reading them in my late 20s strikes me as sentimental, and I sometimes feel too old to be reading them. But why should I care? It’s not such a bad thing to do. The magic you experience from reading children’s books cannot be lost. It’s just that I feel that the magic would have been more powerful had I read these books when I was young.

The 3rd Filipino ReaderCon 2013

The 3rd Filipino ReaderCon 2013

2 Comments

  1. I read Narnia a couple of years back too. I think my younger self would have loved it much more had I been able to read it then. It would have been to easy to fall in love with Aslan. :)

    Like

    • Diba? It’s just different when your adult mind reads a children’s book. You process things differently, and you could only wonder how your child’s mind would have reacted to these books.

      Like

Thoughts? Feelings?

