Reading
Comments 12

Books to Read: October 2013

Books to Read: October 2013

It’s the last quarter of the year and I am going to shake things up a bit. Actually, I’m going to tone things down because if I keep on stacking books that I know I wouldn’t be able to touch within the month, I can kiss my reading goal goodbye as early as now.

I know quantity matters less than quality but my obsessive-compulsive self wouldn’t let go of it. So in an attempt to manage my reading, here’s the stack that’s in store for me this month.

The Left Stack (books I must read and finish):

  • Infinite Jest by David Foster Wallace – from May. Currently on page 258.
  • Les Miserables by Victor Hugo – from January. Currently on page 575.
  • Tigana by Guy Gavriel Kay – our book of the month. This copy was lent to me lest I kill the moderator. Of course, I wouldn’t do that. I think I have a higher tolerance for fantasy novels than crime or mystery novels.

The Right Stack (books I have finished):

  • Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret by Judy Blume – from September. 3 out of 5 stars.
  • The Big Sleep by Raymond Chandler – from September. 1 out of 5 stars.
  • The Homecoming by Harold Pinter – from September. 4 out of 5 stars.
  • The Hound of the Baskervilles by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle – from September. 3 out of 5 stars.
  • The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe by C. S. Lewis – from September. 3 out of 5 stars.
  • Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov – from September. 5 out of 5 stars.

So I only added one book (the compulsory book of the month) and finally crossed out House of Leaves and The Collected Stories of Lydia Davis from the stack. They have been there for a long while (since May and June, respectively). I hope this will help me finish those two tomes that are haughtily staring at me from the bedside shelf.

Also, if you’ve noticed, I managed to finish mostly slim jims. A friend said that I am cheating. Perhaps I am, but hey, books are books regardless of the length and form (yes, plays are great reads and they are still literature). Besides, I am brewing something for next year, and this would massively shake things up.

12 Comments

    • I’m on the Marius part. I have to admit that I shouldn’t have watched the movie prior to reading because I seem to always put it at the bottom of the reading list (because I already know the general outline of the novel). It’s a solid and great book!

      Like

  1. Oh, the annotated version of Lolita still hasn’t changed its boring cover! Hehehehehe. Mine’s more than a decade old, I think. Did you go crazy reading all the notes?

    Like

    • A bit. It almost bordered on annoying because even the obscure words were annotated. I mean, there’s a dictionary for that, right? But it was fun going back and forth the text and end notes.

      Like

Thoughts? Feelings?

