Ex Libris
Comments 12

An advertisement, and some books

I am a budding DFW fan.

Karen of BookerTalk, one of the many great blogs that I follow, has kindly featured me in her blog feature The View from Here. If you are interested to read about my take on the local literary scene, please click this link: Bookish thoughts from the Philippines. I know I am not the perfect person to do this kind of talk, but hey, however myopic my insights on Philippine literature are, I think they might still be of help to widen one’s perspective on world literature. Feel free to discuss about what I wrote about there, although I prefer that we discuss it over there.

The advertisement is over (this is the third time that posted something like this; the first two were from The Spark Project and What I Read). We are now back to regular programming.


The 34th Manila International Book Fair at the SM Mall of Asia Convention Center is a bookish event that a Filipino book nut cannot afford to miss. I thought of not going because I don’t have anything in my to-buy-urgently list. But the mere thought was horrendous, so I changed my mind, met a couple of friends, milled about the venue, chatted with one of the exhibitor’s staff, and bought something.

Actually, I already took advantage of the nationwide sale at National Book Store last week. And I also ordered three books from Book Depository just a few days ago (Vintage Classics are on the way!). So yeah, it was too early for another session of hoarding. Besides, the accountant in me is currently on a strict guard with regard to my financial activities.

But it’s so hard. Anyway, here are my recent book purchases:

  • The Pale King by David Foster Wallace – DFW’s last and posthumously published novel. I wish it had won the Pulitzer last year. (Php 324.00, September 2, NBS – Shangri-la Mall)
  • The Conservationist by Nadine Gordimer – The Booker-winning novel from one of the few female Nobel laureates that I am familiar with. (Php 332.50, September 2, Power Books – SM Mega Mall)
  • The Annotated Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov and Alfred Appel – I’ve already read unannotated edition, but I feel that I need to read those notes that would help me in leading the discussion for our book club. (Php 596.00, September 4, NBS – Rockwell)
  • The Broom of the System by David Foster Wallace – DFW’s first novel. Yes, I now have all three of his novels. Perhaps I’ll start with his short stories next? (Php 541.00, September 14, NBS – MIBF)
  • No Exit and Three Other Plays by Jean-Paul Sartre – I’m really looking for Nausea, but I could settle for this one. (Php 115.00, September 14, Book Sale – SM Mall of Asia)

By the way, it’s my first time to actually write notes on a book. I mean marginalia, although they are not strictly written on the margins. Look!

Did I just murder the first chapter?

Did I just murder the first chapter?

And oh, here’s a photo of me, courtesy of Mommy Louize. Heh.

A book nut.

A book nut.

12 Comments

  1. I found it hard to read Lolita so once was sufficient for me. I’ll have to look into David Foster Wallace – to my shame I don’t know this author at all.

    Like

    • He’s a friend of Jonathan Franzen and (maybe) Dave Eggers. He’s revered as a modern literary hero, which is probably owed from his early death.

      Like

  2. Oooh, marginalia. I wonder how this book will look like if you will keep up with that. :)

    Oh, and you’re a sweet AND a neat boy. :D

    Like

    • It’s already “damaged” when I bought it. The back cover has a big crease and some pages look like someone accidentally stepped on them. And hurrah for the neatness! XD

      Like

  3. The NBS cut price book sale is so evil, no? I bought a ton of books from several NBS branches prior to the book fair. I just couldn’t resist!

    Like

    • I know! I had to fight the urge so hard. There were so many books that I wanted to buy. It was so hard to let go of Evelyn Waugh’s Scoop and Roberto Bolano’s In Between Parentheses. But I am happy enough with Gordimer and Wallace. :)

      Like

Thoughts? Feelings?

