Reading
Comments 15

Books to Read: September 2013

Books to Read: September 2013

Hey, I’m still alive! It’s just that I’ve been out of the loop because of work load and lack of a stable Internet connection. I’ve been waiting for nearly a month for one of our national providers to get me connected, but still, there’s no follow-up from them. Welcome to the Philippines.

Anyway, here’s the stack of books that I intend to read.

The Left Stack (books I want to read soon and books I need to read soon):

  • Are You There God? It’s Me, Margaret by Judy Blume – don’t judge me. This is from the Time’s 100 Novels.
  • The Big Sleep by Raymond Chandler – also from Time Magazine.
  • The Collected Stories of Lydia Davis – from June.
  • The Homecoming by Harold Pinter – a Nobel laureate. I would love to read something by Seamus Heaney, another Nobelist who died a few days ago, but I don’t have anything by him. So I guess this would do?
  • The Hound of the Baskervilles by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle – something for the Classics Club.
  • House of Leaves by Mark Z. Danielewski – from May.
  • The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe by C. S. Lewis – and another more from Time Magazine.
  • Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov – our book of the month. I am still considering if I should get the annotated version.

The Right Stack (books I have finished and books I have yet to finish):

  • Great Expectations by Charles Dickens – from June. 4 out of 5 stars.
  • The History of Love by Nicole Krauss – from July. 5 out of 5 stars.
  • Infinite Jest by David Foster Wallace – from May. Currently on page 258.
  • Les Miserables by Victor Hugo – from January. Currently on page 500.
  • On Chesil Beach by Ian McEwan – from July. 5 out of 5 stars.
  • Steps by Jerzy Kosinski – from July. 4 out of 5 stars.
  • Tall Story by Candy Gourlay – from August. 4 out of 5 stars.
  • Will You Please Be Quiet, Please? by Raymond Carver – from July. 5 out of 5 stars.

So I managed to finish six books. Most of them are slim volumes and that’s exactly why I have selected slim picks for this month, not counting of course the spillovers that are still here from as far as May. I actually took out A Lover’s Discourse by Roland Barthes since I have resolved to return all the books that I have borrowed. I decided to finish what I have in store first.

Also, I am co-moderating our book club’s book discussion for this month, so I guess this will be another of those months where there will be long stretches of silences. I will try my best to keep up.

15 Comments

  1. Judy Blume AND C.S. Lewis! I am very pleased with those books. I hope you enjoy them. And yay, you’re 1/3 done with LesMis! :)

    Like

  2. Another reason for me to read History of Love soon. And yay for The Lion, The Witch, and The Wardrobe and Are You There, God? It’s Me, Margaret. I’m curious of how you will find the latter. :)

    Like

  3. Nabokov! Lolita! I die! I actually have 2 Nabokov favorites — Lolita and his collected short stories. Regarding Lolita, I also had fun zeroing in on all the allusions!

    Like

  4. You have Raymond Chandler’s The Big Sleep! *groans* Can’t find a copy of that book! Hope you’ll enjoy it. :)

    Like

Thoughts? Feelings?

