Whatnot
Comments 23

Today is the middle of the year

A quick look at my early books. Some of them are not in this photo because they are either lent to curious friends or returned to the gracious owners.

After 182 days of reading, attending book club discussions, and battling my recurring reading ruts and blogging breaks, here are some of the books that are most likely to end up in my 2013 Books of the Year:

  1. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak
  2. Cathedral by Raymond Carver
  3. The Death of the Heart by Elizabeth Bowen
  4. Dom Casmurro by Machado de Assis
  5. The Fish Can Sing by Halldor Laxness
  6. Gilead by Marilynne Robinson
  7. Mysteries by Knut Hamsun
  8. Paper Towns by John Green
  9. A Personal Matter by Kenzaburo Oe
  10. Revolutionary Road by Richard Yates
  11. This Is How You Lose Her by Junot Diaz
  12. This Is Water by David Foster Wallace
  13. Twenty Love Poems and a Song of Despair by Pablo Neruda
  14. Ulverton by Adam Thorpe
  15. What We Talk About When We Talk About Love by Raymond Carver

The books that I am still currently reading are not considered in this longlist of 15, but do not be surprised if Great Expectations and Infinite Jest make it through after 182 days.

How about you, dear readers? How’s the reading coming along? Any early favorites or recommendations?

23 Comments

  1. I am beyond happy that this list includes The Book Thief and Paper Towns. :) And thank you again for lending me Carver! I’m sure that will be in my list, too.

    Like

    • I think this is my most diverse longlist. I have poetry, nonfiction, short stories, novels (both general and YA). I’m happy as well despite the slooow reading progress. :D

      Like

  2. This has not been a good reading year for me. Yesterday I was thinking about making my own summary….I’ll probably blog about it in a day or two. I think I’ve only read 13 books so far and the highest rating I’ve given is a 3 :P I actually need suggestions :(

    Like

  3. This year is a mix of graphic novels, fiction, and anything under “philippine publication”. And I tried to do thematic readings, too. I guess I am slowly improving my mix of “Books I have read this 2013.” :D

    Like

    • I have yet to find my ultimate Filipino novel. Ilustrado is an almost, but it failed somehow to make me want to reread it.

      Like

  4. Gilead! This book is most likely to appear in my “best reads” for the year too. :) Carver’s books are in my wishlist/to-hunt-for. :)

    Like

  5. Wow. Two YAs on the list. Haha. It’s fun to see how we evolve as readers. :)

    I will try my best to read a Carver and a Wallace (and a bunch of other authors!) before the year is over. Crossing my fingers! :D

    Like

  6. Very interesting list, Angus.
    I hope to see Neil Gaiman on your next list. hehehe
    No pressure, dearest! ❤

    Like

Thoughts? Feelings?

