Reading
Comments 4

Books to Read: July 2013

Books to Read: July 2013

Here are my July reading plans and my June accomplishment report:

The Left Stack (books I want to read soon and books I need to read soon):

  • The Collected Stories of Lydia Davis – from June.
  • The History of Love by Nicole Krauss – it almost won the book of the month for our book club.
  • House of Leaves by Mark Z. Danielewski – from May.
  • Love in the Time of Cholera by Gabriel García Márquez – our book of the month.
  • A Lover’s Discourse by Roland Barthes – from May.
  • On Chesil Beach by Ian McEwan – I want to read something short.
  • Steps by Jerzy Kosinski – this is another short work, which resembles a collection of short stories.
  • Will You Please Be Quiet, Please? by Raymond Carver – a legit collection of short stories.

The Right Stack (books I have finished and books I have yet to finish):

  • The Curious Case of Benjamin Button by F. Scott Fitzgerald – from June. 3 out of 5 stars.
  • Dom Casmurro by Machado de Assis – from May. 4 out of 5 stars.
  • Great Expectations by Charles Dickens – from June. Currently on page 96.
  • Infinite Jest by David Foster Wallace – from May. Currently on page 240.
  • Les Miserables by Victor Hugo – from January. Currently on page 359.
  • Snow Country by Yasunari Kawabata – from June. 3 out of 5 stars.
  • This Is Water by David Foster Wallace – from June. 5 out of 5 stars.
4 Comments

  1. Oh I really loved “On Chesil Beach”, I hope you enjoy it! Actually, I couldn’t put it down, read it in an evening. It’s weird, how MacEwan can have you hooked with one book (like On Chesil Beach) and not really get to you with another one (like Amsterdam). Or is it just me?
    As far as Carver is concerned, he’s always a great read, I simply adore him.

    Like

    • They say that McEwan is a writer who never rewrites. Each novel is a unique McEwan experience. On Chesil Beach will only be my second; the first is Atonement. I so love that novel!

      Like

Thoughts? Feelings?

