Whatnot
Comments 6

The Classics Club Monthly Meme: June 2013

The Classics Club‘s meme topic for this month is contributed by one of my favorite foreign (to me) book bloggers. Not sure if I should disclose his or her name, but kindly visit BookerTalk and read for yourself the insightful posts that you will find there. And now, the meme:

What is your favourite opening sentence from a classic novel (and why)?

Lolita, light of my life, fire of my loins. My sin, my soul. Lo-lee-ta: the tip of the tongue taking a trip of three steps down the palate to tap, at three, on the teeth. Lo. Lee. Ta.

I love this because it feels so passionate. And probably obsessive. When I listened to the audio book narrated by Jeremy Irons, I just had all these goosebumpy feels. My eyes welled up with tears. Call me dramatic, but yeah, I almost cried (by the time I listened to the audio, I have already read the novel). It feels like the perfect opening sentence(s) for a narrator such as Humbert Humbert.

This is a really memorable opening line, although it could be argued that it’s not really the opening line because of the foreword, but hey, a foreword comes before the beginning of a novel, okay? Anyway, I have this 95% imprinted on my memory. I double checked the lines and found out that there should be a colon and a pair of commas before and after “at three”. Okay, what part of speech is that? A fragment? A prepositional phrase?

6 Comments

  1. That’s an awesome opening line. It does seem very seductive (and obsessive and depressive), and I can imagine it feels doubly so when read aloud by Jeremy Irons.

    Like

  2. Last thing I expected to see when I opened your post, was my blog name. I’m so flattered that you enjoy my meandering thoughts. I shall have a warm glow all day now.
    That opening is a good one. Hearing it aloud would have meant the alliteration was even stronger.

    Karen

    Like

    • I may not often comment, but I do try to visit your blog especially when I see that there are new posts. And yes, that opening line never fails to haunt me.

      Like

Thoughts? Feelings?

