Reading
Comments 18

Books to Read: June 2013

Books to Read: June 2013

Check out what I plan to read and what I have accomplished from May’s reading plan:

The Left Stack (books I want to read soon and books I need to read soon):

  • The Collected Stories of Lydia Davis – because she’s the winner of Man Booker International Prize 2013.
  • The Curious Case of Benjamin Button by F. Scott Fitzgerald – because Camille lent it to me. I am to read this by force, yes? I kid.
  • Great Expectations by Charles Dickens – because it’s my Classics Club Classics Spin pick.
  • House of Leaves by Mark Z. Danielewski – from May.
  • Infinite Jest by David Foster Wallace – from May.
  • A Lover’s Discourse by Roland Barthes – from May.
  • Snow Country by Yasunari Kawabata – because it’s by a Nobel laureate.
  • This Is Water by David Foster Wallace – because I’m in love with the idea of falling in love with the author.

The Right Stack (books I have finished and books I have yet to finish):

  • Cathedral by Raymond Carver – from April. 5 out of 5 stars.
  • Dom Casmurro by Machado de Assis – from May. Currently on page 102.
  • Les Miserables by Victor Hugo – from January. Currently on page 359.
  • Paper Towns by John Green – from May. 4 out of 5 stars.
  • A Personal Matter by Kenzaburo Oe – from April. 5 out of 5 stars.
  • Smaller and Smaller Circles by F. H. Batacan – from May. 2 out of 5 stars.
18 Comments

  1. The husband’s been pushing me to read Great Expectations. I think I’ll wait first for your review before I do so. ;)

    Like

  2. Those are very good. I recall reading Snow Country and Great Expectations. They are good. I guess Cathedral is too. But I remember not liking Batacan’s novel. The rest – particularly Hugo – I still have to read. I hope you read all of the others and write about them here.

    Like

    • Cathedral is great. And yeah, Batacan is so-so. When I started it, I hoped to love her novel because she’s a fellow Pinoy, but it just doesn’t work that way.

      Like

  3. Yes, good. But I felt that the stories read too much like they were products of the creative writing workshop circuit (although weren’t necessarily produced there).

    That’s true about many Filipino writers. There are lots of other good ones though.

    Like

    • You have suggestions? I haven’t read a lot of Filipino authors, and I’d be happy to follow your recommendations.

      Like

  4. Those are a lot of books!:) Among those you’ve read, I especially like to read A Personal Matter and, since you have given it 4 stars, Paper Towns . I guess that’s where I should start my John Green reading.:)

    Good luck on IJ and HoL.:D

    Like

  5. No problem. Here are some of my favorites (that I can immediately think of now):

    Feast and Famine: Stories of Negros by Rosario Cruz Lucero (UP Press)
    Agaw Dilim, Agaw Liwanag by Lualhati Abreu (UP Press)
    Desaparesidos by Lualhati Bautista
    Philippine Society and Revolution by Amado Guerrero
    Dekada 70 by Lualhati Bautista
    Cave and Shadows by Nick Joaquin (Anvil)
    Eye of the Fish by Luis Francia
    Pagtatagpo sa Kabilang Dulo: Panitikang Testimonial ng Desaparesidos (Popular Bookstore)
    Days of Disquiet, Nights of Rage by Jose Lacaba (Anvil)

    Like

  6. Lucky you with your classics club spin. a very readable Dickens…
    How is it going with Dom Casmurro? I still haven’t got around to writing my review – not really sure what I think about it

    Like

    • I am very excited about Dickens. It’s my lucky pick, I guess. I’m currently on the last third of Dom Casmurro. I am enjoying it so far, but I am not sure how things will wrap up. I will let myself be surprised. :)

      Like

  7. Have fun reading Great Expectations! It was my first Dickens and I enjoyed his writing. I don’t know if you are aware, but there were two endings and apparently Dickens picked the popular one.

    Like

  8. Monique says

    I ordered Lydia Davis’ collection from TBD last, last week. Hoping to read her before the year ends. I’ll problee pick up Infinite Jest at FullyBooked if they have it in stock. ;)

    Like

    • Yay! I’ve seen copies of IJ at NBS; it’s the same edition that I have. I think there are prettier editions available now but I am happy with what I have now.

      Like

Thoughts? Feelings?

