Reading
Comments 10

Books to Read: May 2013

Books to Read: May 2013

April is the cruellest month because it’s so hot. The heat has and is still making me restless, hence, my inability to finish the books that I planned to read last month. I only finished two. Heh.

  • Gilead by Marilynne Robinson – 5 out of 5 stars.
  • Ulverton by Adam Thorpe – 4 out of 5 stars.

Aside from the heat, another excuse that I have is the number of activities that I attended for the book club. These were all scheduled during the weekends, and it is mostly on these days that I get a lot of reading done. Last excuse is that my social life went to a full bloom owing to the birthday dinners and hangouts that my friends organized. Yay!

Enough of excuses. I am plain restless, that’s all. So I decided to shake things up a bit. I am going to change the selection process for the monthly reading plans. I will no longer categorize the books; I realize that it’s a constricting habit that could only worsen my lack of focus. Currently, I just pick whatever that I immediately want to read, so I’m going to base my possible reads for the month from a stack of eight or so books that I feel like reading.

I say possible reads because I might change my mind again. You know how feelings are: one couldn’t really trust them because they could change so fast. That’s why I am giving myself some flexibility. Perhaps a reading stack would be quite helpful?

The Left Stack has the books that I haven’t started yet but which I am set on reading soon while the Right Stack has the books that I have already started and books that I am stuck with (Les Miserables, hello). So here they are:

The Left Stack:

  • Dom Casmurro by Machado De Assis – borrowed from Veronica.
  • House of Leaves by Mark Z. Danielewski – I’ve been dying to read this.
  • Infinite Jest by David Foster Wallace – and this one as well.
  • A Lover’s Discourse by Roland Barthes – borrowed from Monique.
  • Paper Towns by John Green – gift from Maria.
  • Smaller and Smaller Circles by F. H. Batacan – our book of the month.

The Right Stack:

  • Cathedral by Raymond Carver – on page 91.
  • Les Miserables by Victor Hugo – on page 359. Yes, it was untouched last month.
  • A Personal Matter by Kenzaburo Oe – on page 26. A spillover from last month.

Okay, so what do you think? You think I can stick with this scheme or do you think I will change my mind again?

10 Comments

  1. Paper Towns! :D Excited for your first John Green!

    I am still cheering you on for your Les Miserables reading journey. :) You can do it!

    Like

  2. I’m unable to set a reading buddy plan for House of Leaves. I’m so sorry. :( Maybe I can just read along with you when you’re starting it already? I chose really thin volumes for the month so I hope I could squeeze in another book in between. :)

    Like

    • Oh it’s okay. You should take a break from the tomes. (Besides, I don’t think one can really have a plan for HOL.) :D

      Like

    • Not really a month. I doubt I can finish all the books here. I am hoping I could finish at least half of them.

      Like

  3. I also read Paper Towns before TFIOS. I’m curious whether you’ll be a John Green fan after these two. ;)

    Like

  4. I’ve always told myself to read Carver on a special month, but never got a chance to actually do it. Well, perhaps your insights on the Cathedral will give me the right push. :)

    Happy reading, dear. I hope you’ll like Paper Towns as I did. ♥

    Like

    • I hope so, too. I am actually a little apprehensive because if I don’t like it, people might strangle me, hahaha!

      Like

Thoughts? Feelings?

