Comments 6

The Classics Club Monthly Meme: April 2013

I keep forgetting to write this post, and now that I suddenly remember it, it’s best that I should allot a few minutes for it, right? The Classics Club monthly meme for April has something to do about heroes. Why not villains, I hear. Well, that’s not up to me. Anyway, here’s the topic:

Who is hands-down the best literary hero, in your opinion? Likewise, who is the best heroine?

I actually couldn’t think of literary heroes and heroines, hence, the delay in coming up with a response. The topic says “literary” hero; the character is not required to have come from a classic book, right? Now that I have explained myself, I think I can now properly answer the question.

My favorite is Adrian Finn, Tony Webster’s friend in Julian Barnes’s The Sense of an Ending. Why? Because he’s so deep and melancholic, and his ruminations on life and history affected me tremendously. I even gained valuable insights on suicide when I finished the novel. Probably I still have a hangover from our mini-discussion of the book last weekend, but I really did like Adrian even before that. In fact, revisiting the novel only made me like him more. And this reminds me that I have to write something about the novel soon.

Runners-up would be the funny Lionel Essrog of Jonathan Lethem’s Motherless Brooklyn and the eccentric unnamed narrator of Knut Hamsun’s Hunger. Now for the heroine: I could only think of Jane Eyre. What a feisty little kid she was! I’m not too sure though if I still like her after she announced “Reader, I married him,” but maybe she deserves it. I just like the idea of Jane Eyre being strong and independent, and one can still be both even if she is married. Right?


  1. Your heroine sounds good. I’m still thinking on a literary hero. hmm. I’m drawing a blank. But maybe Holden Caulfield b/c he’s all I can think of at the moment. … Remember his essay at the beginning? “This is all I know about the Egyptians. ” …. cracked me up a bit


    • For the life of me, I couldn’t remember that. The Catcher in the Rye is just a so-so novel for me (perhaps that’s why). :)


Thoughts? Feelings?

