Reading
Comments 9

Books to Read: April 2013

Books to Read: April 2013

March is another good reading month not only because I finished all the books ahead of time but also because three out of four got five stars. Yay!

  • The Book Thief by Markus Zusak – 5 out of 5 stars.
  • Mysteries by Knut Hamsun – 5 out of 5 stars.
  • The Red Badge of Courage by Stephen Crane – 3 out of 5 stars.
  • Revolutionary Road by Richard Yates – 5 out of 5 stars.

Additional Books Read: None

The 2013 Reading Backlog: Les Miserables by Victor Hugo – currently on page 359. I already drafted a plan that would help me finish it before June. I hope I can keep up with it.

I have yet to have a month where all books will garner super stellar ratings. Let’s see what we have in store for the cruellest month, according to T. S. Eliot.


  • The Noble Nobel Project: A Personal Matter by Kenzaburo Oe – I picked this slim book to make way for one giant read.
  • The Classics Club: Swann’s Way by Marcel Proust – yes, this is the giant read that I referred. Ambitious? Maybe. This is only the first of the seven parts of the fluvial work In Search of Lost Time. This is going to be an annual thing every April.
  • GR-TFG’s Book of the Month: Gilead by Marilynne Robinson – I voted and campaigned for this book. It beat The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao by Junot Diaz and Interpreter of Maladies by Jhumpa Lahiri. However, I have already read this and I have decided to revisit it on audio. In its stead, I’ll read A Midsummer Night’s Dream by William Shakespeare. It’s my first Shakespeare. Okay, you can laugh at me now. But why only now? Well, why not? At least I’m giving it a start; that’s the important thing, right?
  • The Fourth: Ulverton by Adam Thorpe – it’s time to kill this nagging curiosity. I really do have high hopes for this. In fact, I’m reading this first. I’m going to start tonight.

I’d like to believe that I can still squeeze one more book on this list. Last month, I could’ve added an extra book but I decided to catch up on Les Miserables instead. If I follow my pressure-free Les Miserables reading plan, I might read Ishiguro or Eugenides. Hmm.

9 Comments

    • If it’s good, I have a feeling I will start hoarding the No Fear editions of Shakespeare’s works. Happy reading, too!

      Like

Thoughts? Feelings?

