Reading
Comments 22

Books to Read: March 2013

Books to Read: March 2013

February was a pretty good reading month for me mostly because I read two that are worthy of 5 stars and there wasn’t a lot of pressure to finish all the books that I put in the monthly reading list. Yes, I like pressuring myself especially when it comes to books and another yes, the books that I picked last month were easy to handle. The latter owes to the fact that one of them is a short story. Oh well, let’s review them

  • Dead Stars by Paz Marquez Benitez – 2 out of 5 stars.
  • The Death of the Heart by Elizabeth Bowen – 4 out of 5 stars.
  • Twenty Love Poems and a Song of Despair by Pablo Neruda – 5 out of 5 stars.
  • What We Talk About When We Talk About Love by Raymond Carver – 5 out of 5 stars.

Additional Books Read: None

The 2013 Reading Backlog: Les Miserables by Victor Hugo – currently on page 180. Not a lot of progress, I know, but I’m trying my best by resuming bit by bit.

Last month had a theme but for this month, I’ll be returning to themelessness.


  • The Noble Nobel Project: Mysteries by Knut Hamsun – my Hamsun exploration has been delayed for more than a year. I have very high hopes for this; I expect it to earn my 5 stars. This also doubles as another Classics Club read, so yay! Two birds in stone, or book.
  • The Classics Club: The Red Badge of Courage by Stephen CraneThe Classics Spin picked this for me. The nearly unlucky number 14 was randomly selected, and based on this list (no cheating done), it’s the book that I have to read for the event.
  • GR-TFG’s Book of the Month: The Book Thief by Markus Zusak – this beat The Eyre Affair by Jasper Fforde and A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness (my vote). I’ve actually started this a couple of days back because of the reading plan prescribed by the discussion leader. It’s looking good; I’m done with the reading for this week. Wooh!
  • The Fourth: Revolutionary Road by Richard Yates – I’ve been meaning to read this but I always forget to pick it up. That’s because it’s buried behind a stack of books. When I rearranged some of my books, I found it and separated it from the shelves of unread books.

After I finish all four, I intend to, yes, face Les Miserables, but I’m also itching to read another short story collection. I’m looking at either Cathedral by Raymond Carver or Nocturnes by Kazuo Ishiguro. I have to read an extra book every quarter if I want to reach my goal of 52 books a year.

22 Comments

  1. Let me know how it goes with Mysteries. That’s still on my “to-read” list and I still haven’t gotten around to reading it. The Book Thief is a pretty good book…I enjoyed reading that.

    Like

  2. I initially thought of reading Laxness’ “Independent People” this month then I remembered I still need to finish “Wolf Hall.” So I’m picking something slim instead: either Hamsun’s “Hunger” or Ishiguro’s “An Artist of the Floating World.” Hmm. :)

    Like

    • Oh, I’ve still to get a copy of An Artist. You know, the stripey edition. :D I’m also thinking of reading Wolf Hall, but it looks intimidating. Maybe next year.

      Like

  3. I’m thinking of upping my 52 books goal later this year because I think my reading speed picked up again after I finished Les Mis and got my Kindle. But who knows, I could get into a slump later on.

    I only have 3 books in my list this month, and I’m still considering a fourth, but I want it to be my birthday read. I’m not sure what to read for that just yet. :D

    And yay, The Book Thief. :D

    Like

    • Yihee! It’s your month, you are excused. :) Me, I think I will always stick with 52 for a long while because I’m such a slow reader.

      Like

  4. Oh, so you’re looking for short story collections to read? My favorites are The Collected Stories of Vladimir Nabokov and The Collected Stories of John Cheever. These 2 collections are part of my favorite books of all time!

    Like

    • I love Cheever! I read him back in college, during one of the sem breaks. I’m also considering Lydia Davis, but I was told I should read her in small bursts.

      Like

    • Oh, it’s about the existential angst of a middle-class family trapped in a mundane suburban America. It’s about people not knowing what they want. That’s how I imagine it. I think I will be very biased with this one; it’s my kind of book. :D

      Like

  5. Seeing your flawless copy of The Book Thief made me painfully remember my own copy, which was by the way soaked with water when I forgot to close my windows during a storm.

    (Lol sorry for the kinda-feeling-close comment)

    Like

    • Awww. That’s sad. My copy is flawless, as you put it, because I just recently got this as a Christmas gift. :)

      Like

    • Mine is a gift too so I was really in tears when I saw it soaked. </3

      But The Book Thief is really a wonderful and touching novel, though I had to get used with the writing style at first. :)

      Like

Thoughts? Feelings?

