Whatnot
Comments 10

I give in; I am joining the Classics Spin

The Classics Club

The Classics Club

The Classics Club is hosting an event: The Classics Spin. I was a little hesitant to join, but what the hey, there have been a number of events in the club that I let go. In a nutshell, the participants will list 20 books from their respective classics list before Monday and the moderators of the club will pick a number on that day. The book that corresponds to the (un)lucky number should be read and finished on or before April 1.

Sounds fun? To add some thrill, there are four categories where the books must belong. These are the following:

  • five books you are dreading/hesitant to read (1-5)
  • five books you can’t wait to read (6-10)
  • five books you are you are neutral about (11-15)
  • five free choices (16-20)

Okay, here’s my list:

I am dreading these because of their sheer length:

01 An American Tragedy by Theodore Dreiser

02 Call It Sleep by Henry Roth

03 Germinal by Emile Zola

04 Native Son by Richard Wright

05 Women in Love by D. H. Lawrence

I can’t wait to read these because of their reputation:

06 Great Expectations by Charles Dickens

07 Middlemarch by George Eliot

08 Mrs. Dalloway by Virginia Woolf

09 The Portrait of a Lady by Henry James

10 Swann’s Way by Marcel Proust

These books inspire the least feelings from me:

11 Appointment in Samarra by John O’Hara

12 The Magnificent Ambersons by Booth Tarkington

13 O Pioneers! by Willa Cather

14 The Red Badge of Courage by Stephen Crane

15 The War of the Worlds by H. G. Wells

My free choices are books by Nobel laureates:

16 Buddenbrooks by Thomas Mann

17 For Whom the Bell Tolls by Ernest Hemingway

18 Fruits of the Earth by Andre Gide

19 The Jungle Books by Rudyard Kipling

20 Mysteries by Knut Hamsun

I am not ready to read anything from 1 to 5, so I am hoping for any number between 6 and 20 to be picked. If not, it will be quite a tough journey. Good luck and have fun! Thanks to BookerTalk for the encouragement. :)

10 Comments

  1. I have Germinal on my ‘can’t wait to read’ list and rather hoping it will be chosen. Good luck with the spin and I hope you hit 6-10.

    Like

  2. Germinal is longish but it’s one of my top 3 books of all time. Its so heart wrenching because it was based on the real lives of miners. So I hope this comes up and you love it too! I’m also keeping fingers crossed that you get one of the books you want to read so you won’t blame me for persuading you to join in the fun !

    Like

    • Hahaha, of course I won’t blame you. It’s still my call even if a hundred clubbers convince me. I don’t know why Germinal scares me; perhaps it’s because I don’t what to expect of Zola.

      Like

  3. You’re 6-10 group looks great! I’d be happy with an 6-10 on my list, too, so now I’m crossing my fingers for one of those numbers to come up.

    Like

Thoughts? Feelings?

