Whatnot
Comments 2

The Classics Club Monthly Meme: January 2013

I think I can still handle this monthly meme organized by the people behind The Classics Club. I still feel a bit of guilt about not being able to participate in the readathon that the club held last weekend, but what can I do? I was really looking forward to it, but things came up, so …

Instead of brooding over that, let’s proceed with this month’s topic:

What is the best book you’ve read so far for The Classics Club — and why? Be sure to link to the post where you discussed the book! (Or, if you prefer, what is your least favorite read so far for the club, and why?)

Let me list the classics that I knocked off my shelf containing 75 books intended for this project:

  1. Absalom, Absalom! by William Faulkner (2012)
  2. Darkness at Noon by Arthur Koestler (2012)
  3. Frankenstein by Mary Shelley (2012)
  4. Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë (2012)
  5. Noli Me Tángere by José Rizal (2012)
  6. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen (2012)
  7. Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy (2012)

Yes, I only read seven in a span of eight months (April to December). Yes, it’s a meager number considering that I aim to finish 75 classics within five years. I should be reading at least two in a month to meet that goal. I suppose I should be doing three in a month for this year to catch up.

Back to the topic, the best book that I read among these seven is Jane Eyre by Charlotte Bronte. Coincidentally, it’s also the first book that started my classics journey. This was also our book club’s pick for April. I love the book because Jane Eyre is a feisty little fellow. It’s also surprisingly easy to read. I would have loved to pick Anna Karenina or Absalom, Absalom! for this, but that would seem like a pretentious and dishonest choice.

Now, let’s go to the worst. I would say Darkness at Noon by Arthur Koestler. Not that it’s bad; I don’t even dislike it. It’s just that the other six fared better with me, and that’s saying a lot about the status of my journey. I must say though that readers with strong interest in politics should read this.

With that, it’s pretty obvious that I am enjoying this project so much. I even picked Les Miserables for my first book of the year. I’m still reading it; it’s a long and winding road. Excuse the cliché, but yes, I’m definitely loving it.

2 Comments

  1. Jane Eyre was one of my runner ups, but I chose Anna Karenina as my “best” book. So I wonder if they would have asked, “What is your FAVORITE…” if I would have chosen Jane Eyre. (I chose AK for its depth, but I am fond of JE for its simplicity.)

    Like

    • It’s the same case with Absalom, Absalom. I love it for its depth, but I have to stay true to what I feel. For this post, the heart rules over the head. :)

      Like

Thoughts? Feelings?

