Ex Libris
Comments 11

Possibly my last book haul for the year

2012's last stack

This is not exactly a book haul; it’s more of an accumulation of the little purchases that I made for this month. I decided not to include them in my stack of gifts from the previous post because those are gifts and these aren’t. I know, I know, books are, in a sense, gifts, but you know what I mean, right?

The accountant in my brain tells me to list down these books, and here they are:

  • Lady Chatterley’s Lover by D. H. Lawrence (November 28, Book Sale – Makati Square) – I forgot to include this in one of my previous posts (the one where I claimed prizes), so I am putting it here. This is already my third Lawrence book and yet, I haven’t read any of his works. I admit I am a little intimidated because of the sheer length of his works. Php 145.00.
  • Swann’s Way by Marcel Proust (December 3, National Book Store – Glorietta 1) – I used my NBS gift certificate for this. Yes, this is the first volume of Proust’s In Search of Lost Time. Yes, I intend to buy each volume this coming year. Yes, I want the Penguin Deluxe editions. Yes, I was inspired by Jessica Zafra’s reading group. Yes, I don’t know if I can handle this. Php 589.00 – 500 GC = Php 89.00.
  • Barabbas by Par Lagerkvist (December 11, Pick-a-Book – Robinson’s Forum) – Lagerkvist’s (how the heck do you pronounce that?) magnum opus, or so they say.  Another addition to my Nobel project. Php 70.00.
  • What We Talk About When We Talk About Love by Raymond Carver (December 16, Fully Booked – Marquee Mall) – I’m bewitched by Carver. I have wish-listed his every short story collection. If you really want to know, I was supposed to buy another Carver yesterday, but when I scanned the stories in it, I realized that that’s a selection of short stories from his other collections. Half of the stories here are also there. I might as well read the two that I already have and then go back to it. No, I think I will go back to it next month, which means I’ll be reading Carver early this year. Php 528.00.
  • A Home at the End of the World by Michael Cunningham (December 17, Book Sale – Walter Mart Munoz) – I think I already have this somewhere but I’m not sure. My uncertainty sprang at the decent condition of the book for a low cost. Actually, I’ve already seen the film adaptation (and I love the soundtrack!) but you know, I still want to read it. Php 50.00.
  • Jonathan Strange and Mr. Norrell by Susanna Clarke (December 24, Book Sale – SM Clark) – this is one of Time Magazine’s best novels of the decade. When I saw this, I was annoyed because the front cover was nearly mangled. I had to put it at the bottom of a stack of books and walked around the store for a few minutes to give the book a chance to make itself look decent. Fortunately, it worked. I think this is a novel that deviates from my usual picks, but since I trust Time and I heard good things about this from my friends, I am going to give this a shot. Php 115.00.
  • The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood (December 27, Book Sale – Makati Square) – I already have a copy of this, but I like this edition. Besides, my first copy is a TPB-HB hybrid (too big for a TPB, get it?). I have friends who like this book (and who love Atwood in general). I’m a little excited to read this. Php 75.00.

If I can fight it, I won’t be making any purchases until next year, which is oh, less than a week from now. I think I have to manage my book buying because I’m starting to have shelf problems. The books that I purchased since November and the books that I got as gifts are not on my shelf. They are stacked at the foot of my bed. This is not really a problem because I love sleeping with books. It’s just that they sometimes topple over me when I get a little too rowdy in my sleep. Toppling equals damage, so yes, I should take care of them by placing them on my shelf and by reorganizing my shelf.

Dear, looks like I have some housekeeping to do before the year ends. Happy New Year!

11 Comments

  1. Jonathan Strange! Haha I got that from Aaron this year. Monique got it too. If you’re planning to read it in 2013, buddy read? But preferably after Les Miserables, of course! Haha.

    Like

    • Good thing you mentioned it. I’m already plotting my first quarter reads. Maybe we can hold it until April? The Book Thief is quite thick (for March) and I assume February will be really fast (as always). :)

      Like

    • Sure, April is fine. :) I’m planning to start The Book Thief early since February is just a short story anyway. Anytime within the second quarter is fine with me

      Like

  2. I did some housekeeping with my un-boxed books last night (I keep my books inside plastic containers haha) and it was heavy work. So, good luck with yours. ;)

    We have the same copy of The Blind Assassin. Buddy read? ;)

    Like

  3. Congratulations for the haul. Happy New Year! Not so sure with the rest but Atwood’s The Blind Assassin is highly recommended reading. :)

    Like

    • Happy New Year! It feels like I’ve known you for so long. I’ll make a conscious effort to bump up Atwood in my reading plan. :)

      Like

Thoughts? Feelings?

