Ex Libris
Comments 10

I claimed these prizes

It pays to post comments on various blogs

Yesterday, I went to this posh mall smacked in the heart of the ghetto to claim the prizes that I won at a raffle at this blog. I’ve never been lucky with raffles, so you can just imagine me silently squealing and jumping like I’ve lost it when I read that I won a stack of books and gift certificates at National Book Store. I was given the option to pick eight out of the 24 books, but I am good with five. I don’t want to take books that I know I won’t be reading or books that I am not inclined to read. And there’s shelf space management, too.

So here are the books that I took home with me:

  • Emerald City and Other Stories by Jennifer Egan – I would love to give Egan another shot since I enjoyed reading A Visit from the Goon Squad.
  • Imperial Bedrooms by Bret Easton Ellis – I’ve always been interested in reading his American Psycho. This might do while I don’t have a copy yet.
  • Narcopolis by Jeet Thayil – shortlisted for the 2012 Man Booker Prize.
  • The Sisters Brothers by Patrick Dewitt – shortlisted for the 2011 Man Booker Prize.
  • Snow Country by Yasunari Kawabata – I recently bought a MMP of this, but the new and shiny TPB is just irresistible. So yes, I now have two copies of this.

The bottom two books, well, I bought them at Book Sale branches. I’m adding them here anyway; you know that I have the propensity to turn this blog into a book inventory of sorts.

  • How Fiction Works by James Wood (November 29, Book Sale – SM Clark, Php 115.00) – I was lent a copy of this. I should remind myself to return it as soon as possible.
  • How Late It Was, How Late by James Kelman (December 1, Book Sale – SM North Edsa, Php 50.00) – I believe this is one of the least popular Booker winners, and that only makes me more intrigued.

I also won GCs worth Php 1,000.00. I was browsing the books at National Book Store (Rockwell and Glorietta 1 branches), but I couldn’t make up my mind. The things that were going through my mind were 1.) I don’t think I’d be reading this soon and 2.) this is too expensive. It baffles me that I worry about the price because I won’t be shelling out any money for it. Besides, I willingly pay for a book that I want (and I even get overpriced sometimes), so I don’t know where this hesitation is coming from.

I am itching to use my GCs, so I’d like to ask for your recommendations or help me choose among these books that I was eyeing yesterday:

  • Infinite Jest by David Foster Wallace – I am not a hipster, but I would like to try this.
  • The Stories of John Cheever – I have read this back in college but I’d like to have a TPB edition.
  • The Stories of Vladimir Nabokov – for Christ’s sake, it’s Nabokov!
  • Swann’s Way by Marcel Proust – the Penguin Deluxe edition translated by Lydia Davis.
  • The Tale of Genji by Murasaki Shikibu – the unabridged edition translated by Royall Tyler.
  • The Tale of the Unknown Island by Jose Saramago – an illustrated short story.

I will wait until 7 PM Philippine time for your help and recommendations.

10 Comments

Thoughts? Feelings?

