Reading
Comments 10

Books To Read: November 2012

Books To Read: November 2012

We still have two more months to go through before the year ends, so I’m giving some considerations for this month’s reading list. I’ll stray away from the usual pick whatever method for this month.

First, what books will help me complete my 2012 reading challenge of 52 books? Currently, I’m on my 50th book, so I’m pretty comfortable about the challenge. It’s not that I’m after quantity. If that were the case, I would have increased 52 to 100, which is impossible anyway, given my reading speed and the current state of my attention span.

Second, what books will inspire me to return to my normal reading. Since last year, I normally finish four to five books a month, and I’m pretty comfortable with that. I think that reading a very interesting book might make me return to that pace.

Third, what books should I be reading? Rather, what is our book club’s book pick for November? Earlier this year, I didn’t think that I would read all our books of the month, but it has become a sort of habit to me. At first, it seemed like an obligation, but it has allowed me to explore books outside my reading list. I don’t think I’ll ever read The Little Prince or Jellicoe Road had they not been selected by our book club.

Since I only have three considerations, I will also pick three books for this month. I usually pick five, right? I realized that picking more than three for this month will be a gargantuan task, and I don’t want my reading to feel like that. Besides, I haven’t been finishing the five books for the past few months. It annoys me, really, so I’ll set up a reading plan that is achievable. Here it is:

  • This Is How You Lose Her by Junot Diaz – This was, yes, on the October list, but I’m putting it back because I feel like it’s going to be a quick read and because this book is nominated at this year’s National Book Awards. Reading it this month might help the book to win. Heh.
  • A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius by Dave Eggers – Peter mentioned in one of my incoherent rants that this book might help me get back to the groove, so yes, I’m taking his recommendation. Coincidentally, Eggers’s A Hologram for the King is also nominated and pitted against This Is How You Lose Her. By the way, I’m supposed to read this with a bunch of friends, but I think I’d like to read this on my own pace. I hope my friends understand.
  • The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova – This is our book club’s November read. It’s an imposing book, what with the MMP’s 900 pages. Some of my friends have been taunting me that reading this alongside Anna Karenina is akin to suicide.

Speaking, here’s my current backlog:

  • Ulysses (April) – still on 196 of 682. I’ll resume on December.
  • Mysteries (July, September) – untouched. I might pick this up as my Nobel pick for this month if I finish the books above. If not, well, there’s December.
  • The Swimming Pool Library (July, August, September, October) – untouched. I think I’ll drop this for next year.
  • The Tin Drum (August) – still on 229 of 582. I’ll resume on December.
  • Anna Karenina by Leo Tolstoy – currently on 353 of 838. A great novel! Too bad I can’t bring it with me anywhere. It’s a wrist-breaker.

Given this backlog, you now have a pretty good idea of what I’ll be reading until the end of the year.

10 Comments

  1. I feel bad about abandoning the buddy read for Anna Karenina. But I think that if I pursue it, the reading would become an obligation, and as you said, I wouldn’t want my reading to be like that. :)

    Yay for The Historian! :)

    Like

    • Oh, don’t mind it. The least thing that I want my friends to feel is guilt for something that isn’t a big deal.

      I am thinking of starting The Historian right after I shut down. I’m serious this time. The question is what time will I be shutting down, haha!

      Like

  2. You know you will still be my friend even if you don’t read a page of The Historian. But I don’t think you’d be able to accept it yourself should it ever come to that. :)

    Like

    • It’s already sitting beside me, I’m just waiting for a download to finish, hehe. And yes, please accept my late answers at the online thread. :D

      Like

  3. Yay! AHWoSG! It’s one of my all-time favorite reads! I do hope you’ll like it though. So far, it’s the only work of Eggers that I’ve read.

    Like

    • The sound of the title makes me fall in love with it already! If it’s somebody’s all- time fave, it must be really good. :D

      Like

  4. I am so, so, so curious about Junot Diaz now. I think our convo about This is How You Lose Her last MIBF piqued my interest. I think I’ll add his books on my TBR for next year. :)

    Like

    • In fairness, the spreadsheet helps. It started first as a list of books on Notepad until it expanded slowly. But one must always remind The Self to update it. :D

      Yes, we can try VF again next year, haha. Hopefully I’ll be back to my old self then. And you know what? I might not have bought TIHYLH if that woman didn’t make me feel guilty for the book’s little poknat. XD

      Like

  5. Man, i’m more and more intrigued with this Junot Diaz book! lemme know how it goes, alright? :) i miss u, chami!

    Like

Thoughts? Feelings?

