Day: October 24, 2012

The Lover's Dictionary by David Levithan

Defining Heartbreak – The Lover’s Dictionary by David Levithan

Last year, my bookish friends and I went out of town. Being the bookish lot that we are, we brought books with us that we could read while on the road, if we are not too busy relaying random stories to each other. I brought a Hemingway novel, which is not a very smart choice because I now realize that books for traveling should only be light (literally and metaphorically). Anyway, my friends were passing around this novel-dictionary, and my curiosity was piqued when I saw that it really was a novel-dictionary. Flip through the pages and you’ll see dictionary entries of words selected by the unnamed narrator to tell the story of his relationship. I don’t think that Levithan is the progenitor of this form only because I think nothing can be original these days, but it was refreshing to see such a novel. Here’s a sample entry: love, n. I’m not going to even try. And then the rest of the page is just plain space. With this, one can surmise that the …