Day: October 22, 2012

A Single Man by Christopher Isherwood

One Day in the Life of a Literature Professor – A Single Man by Christopher Isherwood

A bookish friend has been raving about the beautiful film adaptation of this since time immemorial, and I couldn’t bring myself to watch it mainly because I do not respond well to rabid recommendations. I hate the feeling of disappointment when high expectations are not met. How could I not have those when the recommender is lost for words and could only plead to just watch the damn movie. Please. And then out of nowhere, one of my book club friends lent me a copy. Seeing that it’s only slim, something that I can read over the weekend, I read it and immediately looked for the copy of the film adaptation that has been sitting for months on my to-watch stack. I had this need to see how it is translated into film, and having that need as soon as I finished reading the book is saying a lot. We all understand that books and films are separate entities, but that’s not what I’m getting at. I just want to see if I had a …