Day: September 23, 2012

Some books in the PoMoProj

The 61 Postmodern Reading Project

A handful of my friends will attempt to read the books included in the 61 essential postmodern reads compiled by LA Times. I jumped in despite my┬áreading and blogging rut because it looks fun. Besides, these are exquisite books. This reading project is spearheaded by Aldrin. He dragged three of us into this: Bennard, Mae, and I. Did I miss anyone? Is there anyone out there who’s interested? I don’t know how one is inducted to this project; perhaps one must have a keen liking for postmodern books. So what then is postmodernism? It’s very hard to put down the set of criteria that makes a book postmodern but I find the play with form and language as key indicators. There’s also the plot, but there are so many postmodern stuff going on out there that I find it hard to distinguish what’s postmodern and what’s not. I must say that this discerning is also part of the fun. This po-mo project is still sketchy. I suggested setting up a separate group blog but we …