Day: August 14, 2012

Waiting for Godot by Samuel Beckett

An attempt to review a play – Waiting for Godot by Samuel Beckett

I do not know what to make out of this, and yet, my goal to write something for every book that I read that would at least have one sensible sentence forces me to revisit this play. It’s the first play that I ever read, and I already have an existing half-baked report on my initial reading of this. After reading the post and skimming the book/pamphlet, I am still unsure how to make sense of it. So what are the possible causes? 1.) I’m not in the mood to think and write; 2.) I didn’t get what this play was trying to say; 3.) The play is too tough for my puny mind to understand, 4.) The play is simply open to a lot of interpretations. The last item, I lifted from my preliminary gleaning, and I am sticking with it. Vladimir and Estragon are two tramps who are, apparently, waiting for Godot. Who this Godot is, we never find out because he never arrives. Perhaps he will on the third act, but sorry …