Day: July 27, 2012

The Filipino ReaderCon 2012 Filipino Friday 2: School of Reading

Filipino Friday is a meme in celebration of the upcoming Filipino Reader Conference. And here’s this week’s topic (no time for a lengthy introduction this time): July 27 – School of Reading. We all started reading somewhere, and more often than not, we were influenced by someone. Who got you into reading? Your parents? A friend? A librarian? One teacher who always lends out his/her books? How helpful was your school in helping your reading habit/fueling your book addiction? Who got you into reading? – Hmm, no one really. I just realized one day in college that I have to read books outside the requirements of school. I felt that I needed to do it lest my brains stagnate from boredom. How I came to that realization has to do with my discovery of Book Sale. You see, in my hometown, the first time that a Book Sale branch opened was only in 2004. When I checked out the books, I realized that I could read a lot of good books without having to spend much …