Day: July 11, 2012

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë

The Affairs of Jane Eyre – Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë

Jane Eyre is the first book that I read for The Classics Club, an online group where each member sets a significant number of classics that he or she intends to read within a span of time. If you want to know, I set my goal to 75 pre-1950 books within 5 years. Also, this is the fourth book of our book club for this year. So yes, this book can be considered a reading milestone for me. Which is not so bad, because I thoroughly enjoyed each page. I am actually surprised at how I reacted to it because at the some level, this is a romantic novel. I chose to use the adjective “romantic” instead of the noun “romance” just so that I would not be required to define what romance is for me to defend my judgment. Anyway, Jane Eyre opens with our lead character, none other than Jane, contemplating the rainy weather and reading a book. We learn that from her that she was orphaned before she could even remember things, and …