Day: July 10, 2012

Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Strout

Remember your math teacher? – Olive Kitteridge by Elizabeth Strout

Who is Olive Kitteridge? I imagined Olive as young woman when I first looked at my yellow edition. Call me weird, and I know I am, but there’s something youthful about the name, not to mention that the color of my edition’s cover gives a vibrant feel to it. So I was taken aback to find out that she is something else. She is a retired math teacher way past her prime. She’s not too old to be in a nursing home. In fact, she is big, robust for her age, hardly inconspicuous, sometimes intimidating, not very motherly, not very nice. Quite your stereotyped math teacher. Although this book is entitled after her, it is not entirely about her. What young people didn’t know, she thought, lying down beside this man, his hand on her shoulder, her arm; oh, what young people did not know. They did not know that lumpy, aged, and wrinkled bodies were as needy as their own young, firm ones, that love was not to be tossed away carelessly, as if …