Day: July 6, 2012

Ghostwritten by David Mitchell

The Crane, the Locust, and the Bat – Ghostwritten by David Mitchell

Well, what do we have here? It’s the début novel of my favorite living writer. And do I need to mention the name? I think it’s not necessary, but yes, I will mention it just because I want to: David Mitchell. Now that that’s part over, let’s go over to what Mitchell thought of writing to start his career. He chose to deal with nine loosely related stories to come up with a cohesive whole. I’m not too sure about the cohesive part but I don’t mind that because each part is good enough to count as a distinct short story. I think this was already done before, dating back to the modernists of the early 20th century, but in this era where sappiness is immensely rewarded and boldness is heavily criticized, a first novel such as this is something that should be celebrated. There are three who think about the fate of the world. First there is the crane. See how lightly he treads, picking his way between the rocks in the river? Tossing, …