Day: June 25, 2012

The Sunday Salon - June 25, 2012

Reading: Absalom, Absalom!; Last Orders; Ghostwritten

I’m trying to catch up on my June books. There’s only a week left so what I did was to finish the Faulkner book that I started last week and practiced bigamy on the remaining two books. Absalom, Absalom! by William Faulkner Date Started: June 17, 2012. 12:00 AM. Date Finished: June 23, 2012. 1:00 AM. Book #35 of 2012 The Classics Challenge: Book #05 of 75 I was totally swept away by this book, not while I was reading it but a few minutes after I closed it and brooded on the events. I breathed deeply, let out a sigh, muttered something like ohmygod, and felt a little ache in my heart. Faulkner’s prose works its effect right after the whole thing blows ever. I still cannot assume that I fully understood the novel, but what the hey, I don’t care. I love it. I love it, I love it! Write-up to follow. Last Orders by Graham Swift Date Started: June 24, 2012. 2:00 PM. Current Page: 61 of 295 Book #36 of 2012 …